Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Dictador 20-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador iconic product. Dictador 20 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in ex-Port casks. Your rum for the special occasion. Taste it neat!

7.4/10 (306 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
7
36
87
97
57
10

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

306 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Beautiful bottle. Rum not as special. It is decent. Nothing remarkable. A bit spicy and hot.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 329 ratings

ve vůni i v chutí káva, ořechy, vyladěnější Dictator 12, velmi příjemný, hooodně mne baví!

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 11 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 82 ratings

On ressent tout le travail dans ce rhum hors d'âge.
Arômes de bois brûlé, caramel et réglisse.
Très suave en bouche.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

This one is really great Coffee and Chocolate after-feel.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Smooth sipping with nice complexity of flavors. This definitely one I will look for in the future.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Auré06 from France with 8 ratings

Trop alcooleux. Les arômes sont altérés par l'alcool qui est mal intégré.

Ffffff

Posted at Calle Jardin 1 year ago by Ronesvenezolanosdim from Colombia with 1 rating

Conserva el sabor de las barricas y sabe amaderado. No obstante ls notas fuertes que conserva le matizan mucho el sabor de la madera, siendo esas notas muy deliciosas que hacen de este ron único en su sabor. Identificarlo en una cata sería facil porque tiene un aroma muy especial

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 280 ratings

The new bottle (no solera) is a little bit different to my old impressions. It's more on the cocoa side.
I read in another reviews also some notes of chocolate and cocoa. A little bit more vanilla and young oak in the solera and it's a little bit more mellow.
I think all Dictadors have changed a little bit, this could be because they toasted their casks heavier.

This rum has a recognition value (it's pot still + column still blend). It needs 30min in the glas until it opens the aromas.
The flavor profile is honey with cocoa and spices like pepper and nutmeg. It's not sweetened.
Unusual combination, that's why it has a unique taste.
The smell is a combination of honey, vanilla, cocoa, spices and some wood. I can not clearly separate all flavors, but I enjoy this composition.
The taste starts with a little bit cocoa, then slightly a woody note (or call it paper) shows up followed by the honey with vanilla. It's not watery but I noticed the dilution, it's thiner of course. I would prefer 45% I think. Then I got also some dry fruits and different spices like pepper and nutmeg. They are not very dominant, you get only some hints of them.
A good rum, not very complex but unique. Would rate it with 75 points.

Smell: cocoa ***, honey, dry fruits **, some vanilla, pepper, nutmeg, some wood
Taste: cocoa, paper or wood, honey, dry fruits, vanilla, hints of caramel, spices
Very nice aftertaste with floral notes

Country: Columbia
City: Cartagena
Material: Sugar Cane Honey ( 30% pot still / 70% column still)
Age: 20 years. Solera, but just the angels share (evaporation loss) will be filled up with younger rums (some times ago with same age rums)
Barrels: American oak barrels (bourbon)
Master Blender: Hernan Parra

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (37€): 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by IBO from Slovakia with 146 ratings

Tak veľmi som sa tešil na 20 ročný Dictator,sklamal má fakt moc. Je fakt pikantný,suchsi a neprišiel mi vyvážený. Časom ho vyskúšam znova a uvidime,či zmením hodnotenie

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Zane from Norway with 49 ratings

Smell is magical. But taste not so special. Still good but was expecting more after the first scent. Sweet licorice taste.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Shotzone3 from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Black bottle = hidding something. They keep you uptight but no surprise insight. Never more for me