Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Dictador 20-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador iconic product. Dictador 20 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in ex-Port casks. Your rum for the special occasion. Taste it neat!

7.4/10 (292 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
7
35
86
92
52
8

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


292 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Perfect without doubts nice smell Fine Taste on tongue.

Ffffff

Posted at Calle Jardin 11 months ago by Ronesvenezolanosdim from Colombia with 1 rating

Conserva el sabor de las barricas y sabe amaderado. No obstante ls notas fuertes que conserva le matizan mucho el sabor de la madera, siendo esas notas muy deliciosas que hacen de este ron único en su sabor. Identificarlo en una cata sería facil porque tiene un aroma muy especial

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

The new bottle (no solera) is a little bit different to my old impressions. It's more on the cocoa side.
I read in another reviews also some notes of chocolate and cocoa. I think all Dictadors have changed a little bit, this could be because they toasted their casks heavier.

This rum has a recognition value (it's pot still + column still blend). It needs 30min in the glas until it opens the aromas.
The flavor profile is honey with cocoa and spices like pepper and nutmeg. It's not sweetened.
Unusual combination, that's why it has a unique taste.
The smell is a combination of honey, vanilla, cocoa, spices and some wood. I can not clearly separate all flavors, but I enjoy this composition.
The taste starts with a little bit cocoa, then slightly a woody note (or call it paper) shows up followed by the honey with vanilla. It's not watery but I noticed the dilution, it's thiner of course. I would prefer 45% I think. Then I got also some dry fruits and different spices like pepper and nutmeg. They are not very dominant, you get only some hints of them.
A good rum, not very complex but unique. Would rate it with 75 points.

Smell: cocoa ***, honey, dry fruits **, some vanilla, pepper, nutmeg, some wood
Taste: cocoa, paper or wood, honey, dry fruits, vanilla, hints of caramel, spices
Very nice aftertaste with floral notes

Country: Columbia
City: Cartagena
Material: Sugar Cane Honey ( 30% pot still / 70% column still)
Age: 20 years. Solera, but just the angels share (evaporation loss) will be filled up with younger rums (some times ago with same age rums)
Barrels: American oak barrels (bourbon)
Master Blender: Hernan Parra

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (37€): 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 127 ratings

Tak veľmi som sa tešil na 20 ročný Dictator,sklamal má fakt moc. Je fakt pikantný,suchsi a neprišiel mi vyvážený. Časom ho vyskúšam znova a uvidime,či zmením hodnotenie

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Zane from Norway with 49 ratings

Smell is magical. But taste not so special. Still good but was expecting more after the first scent. Sweet licorice taste.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Shotzone3 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Black bottle = hidding something. They keep you uptight but no surprise insight. Never more for me

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

Impressive black packaging and black bottle to match. The rum had a dark mahogany colour and a different nose of coffee and anise. It has a complex taste matching the nose with a light burn. I paid $85 after the LCBO dropped the price by $30.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jero83 from Colombia with 10 ratings

Magical aroma, no easy to understand how can it smell like that. Perfect taste and beautiful color, it keeps being one of my favorit ones.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 37 ratings

What is 20 years in this rum? It's like a 5 year rum. Strong alcohol flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

Better in every aspect than his 12y brother. Aroma of coffee, nuts and vanilla. In taste continue flavours of nuts, coffee, tobacco, vanilla and oak. Very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Dictador rums are quite nice for my taste and this is no exception. Very nice smell, hints of walnut, coffee, slight tobacco. Probably not the most complex 20yr old rum I tasted but a great amd smooth one.