Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Dictador 20-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador iconic product. Dictador 20 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in ex-Port casks. Your rum for the special occasion. Taste it neat!

7.4/10 (292 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
7
35
86
92
52
8

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


292 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 121 ratings

Perfect without doubts nice smell Fine Taste on tongue.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I really like the smell of this rum. Caramel, vanilla, cocoa, honey, oak, nutmeg, and mild tobacco. The taste isn't quite as good. Similar notes, but I find it harsh. Not a bad rum, but not great either.

Small 0

Posted 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 106 ratings

Smells fantastic, sweet brown sugar. Taste is smooth with just the right amount of spice. The only reason it's not a 9/10 for me is it's not as complex as I'd expect for a 20-yr. Some caramel, sweet molasses and a little fruity finish come through - but none stand out that much to be distinctly great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Benito B. from Luxembourg with 68 ratings

Like his young brother, I don't like this rum very much, because it has a (too) strong tobacco taste, but it's a little bit better then the 12 year one!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by cyryl from France with 5 ratings

Distillerie : Destileria Colombiana
Provenance : Colombie

Ce rhum Dictador 20 ans est un rhum dit "traditionnel" qui nous vient de Colombie. Passé les nombreuses médailles qu'il a raflé en 2012 -et sa bouteille au look novateur- il faut dire ce qui est : c'est un Excellent rhum!

Vieillis selon la méthode de la Solera dans des fûts de chêne, il possède une richesse aromatique (certes complexe) hors norme.

Passé sa belle couleur cuivre oranger, on remarque d'entrée une douce odeur de café ; odeur qui reste et qui devient même encore plus forte une fois le verre vide. De la vanille, une odeur discrète de noix, une fraicheur fruitée assez intéressante et plaisante aussi.

En bouche on a l'impression de retrouver la même palette aromatique dans le même ordre, avec toujours ce café assez présent. L'attaque est soyeuse, tres agréable, végétale et finement boisée.

Le finale est long et les fleurs ont la part belle, ainsi qu'une pointe d'agrumes et une légère note fruitée.

Les amateurs du rhum Diplomatico apprécierons chaque gorgée de ce Dictador 20 ans ; il a même ma préférence, et ça ne changera pas tout de suite.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Vastitas from Poland with 1 rating

Liked it a lot! Almost all alcohol benefits from the aroma of coffee and this is no exception.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by krasnal from Poland with 39 ratings

Drugie Rudno Rudno tych Ford uff yyy rannych graj tu dj dj

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 30 ratings

Nice amber color, very pleasant smell with hints of coffee and spices. Taste is absolutely perfect. Itis delicately sweet rum even if it is without any added sugar. Hints of honey, coffee (less than Dictador 12Y), strong flavor and no afterburn. This is just for special occassions and best friends.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

Very very good. I should probably rate higher. So enjoyable and a lot of flavors to take pleasure in. Nuts, chocolate, vanilla, caramel, tobacco and more. A bit on the dry side which is perfect for my palate. Will always be welcome in my cabinet

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 107 ratings

Really interesting taste. Well done! Bit dry, but I like it!

Small 20201115 101826

Posted 3 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 59 ratings

Auch bei dem Dictador 20 years Solera wurde der Zuckerrohr Honig im Pot und Column Stil destilliert und durfte die vollen 20 Jahre in ausgebrannten Eichenholzfässern in Kolumbien lagern. Solera bedeutet hier, dass der Angel Share durch jünger gelagerte Rums aufgefüllt wird. Es gibt kein Zucker oder Farbstoff. Der Rum hat 40% Alkohol und wird auch in einer schwarzen Flasche ausgeliefert. Diesesmal mit blauen Etikett.

Nach dem ich den 12 Jahre alten Dictador nicht wirklich mochte, war ich schon etwas nervös. Aber es hat sich gelohnt. Schon in der Nase ist der 20 jährige viel ausgewogener und viel komplexer. Karamel, Holz, Honig, Zuckerrohr und dunkle Schokolade sind erkennbar. Mit der Zeit kommen holzige und würzige Noten dazu. Am Gaumen wirkt eine komplexe Komposition auf die Geschmacksnerven ein. Süße karamellige Noten mit gebrannter Haselnuss. Kakao und Eichenholz. Leder ist dabei. Diesmal sehr gut eingebettet. Er ist seidig und vollmundig und jetzt kann ich auch Kaffee schmecken. Der Abgang ist lang mit mehr Schärfe. Er wird begleitet von Pfeffer, Holz sowie Schokolade. Wow. Echt lecker. Klarer Premium Charakter. Das hatte ich nicht erwartet. Bitte nach schenken!

Das der 20 jährige Dictador so viel erwachsener, sinnlicher und auch komplexer ist hätte ich nicht erwartet. Hier macht sich die längere Lagerung deutlich bemerkbar. Der Aufpreis lohnt sich daher und das Geld ist gut investiert. Eigentlich ist die Geschmackswelt des Dictadors nicht ganz das was ich suche, aber er hat mich überzeugt. Kein klassischer Süß Rum. Halt was komplett eigenes. Hut ab.

The sugar cane honey of the Dictador 20years was distilled in pot and column style and was allowed to store the full 20 years in burnt-out oak barrels in Colombia. Solera means that the Angel Share is replenished by younger rums. There is no added sugar or dye. The rum has 40% alcohol and is also delivered in a black bottle. This time with a blue label.

After disliking the 12-year-old Dictador, I was a bit nervous. But it was worth it. In the nose, the 20-year-old is much more balanced and much more complex. Caramel, wood, honey, sugar cane and dark chocolate are recognizable. Over time, woody and spicy notes are added. On the palate, a complex composition affects the taste buds. Sweet caramel notes with burnt hazelnut. Cocoa and oak. Leather is included. This time very well embedded. It is silky and full-bodied and now I can also taste coffee. The finish is long with more sharpness. It is accompanied by pepper, wood and chocolate. Wow. Really delicious. Clear premium character. I didn't expect that. Please another round!

I wouldn't have expected the 20-year-old Dictador to be so much more grown-up, sensual and even more complex. This is where the longer storage is clearly noticeable. The surcharge is therefore worthwhile and the money is well invested. Actually, the taste of the dictador is not quite what I was looking for, but he convinced me. No classic sweet. Hats off! Great stuff!