Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Dictador 20-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador iconic product. Dictador 20 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in ex-Port casks. Your rum for the special occasion. Taste it neat!

7.4/10(315 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
7
37
89
99
59
12

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

315 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Red 249 from United States with 10 ratings

I was drawn to the name of this rum thinking it might be some gimmick but quickly found out this is some good rum! Just slightly more burn with an ounce less sweetness as El Dorado 21 Year Rum. Great vanilla, smoky, oak, and caramel.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

smooth rum , but for that price there are better choices

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Stinovic from Belgium with 6 ratings

The Dictador 20 is more subtle then the Dictador 12. The oak smokiness is still present but less dominant. Some vanilla, cinnamon, caramel and spices. Lingering aftertaste.
I personally prefer the (cheaper) Dictador 12 for most occasions but this is still a very good rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Matiozo from Slovakia with 11 ratings

Even if you are not rum expert, you will feel taste and know the difference between this 20-years old and his younger brother. As I don´t like 12-year old too much, this older version is much better and you don´t need any ice to tastes good. It has nice caramel, honey, toffe taste with a little bit strong start from the beginning but very soft and complex.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Update: Tried this rum the day after, with a better result.
Less bitterness, and more of the rum taste, but still an unpleasant bitter sensation in the finish.

Update from a 3 to 4.

Interesting bottle, with a weird feel. Almost rubber like, but a funny ceramic sound.
First nose from the bottle - Port wine, sweet, prunes, vanilla, chocolate.
In the glass, beautiful amber color, lovely legs.
Nose - Caramel, vanilla, chocolate, molases.
Taste is strong at first. The notes of the rum is at first hidden by a bitter taste. Sweet in the middle, with a hint of vanilla and caramel, but again ending with a sharp bitterness.

Very weird rum. Initially expecting a lot from the bottle, nose, and color, but getting a weird, bitter tast that lasts all the way through. Its a real struggle to find the notes of the rum behind the bitter tast. Definitely not a favorite of mine. Bought it because I heard interesting things - Not always good things - about it, and I can say, this wont be going in the bar cabinet again when its empty.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

As expected for a 20 year rum, this is very good. I have other favorites that I have paid much less for, but this Columbian rum is worth going back to now and then. Once it is gone, I will not replace it because there are so many more out there to try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by taz.c from France with 84 ratings

toujours sur le café, moins sucré que le 12 ans donc du coup, un peu plus "raide"... et un peu plus "sec"... mieux en digeo que apéro;-)

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Bottle looks great, inside is smoother, more andvanced quality content (than 12y), but typical flavour (which I dont like so much) is still here. 6,5 rounded down.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mikey from Germany with 6 ratings

... finden sich in diesem sehr würzigen Rhum die an Muskat oder Pfeffer erinnern.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Mutch better than Dictador 12 , Coffee taste.Complex. Good rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mic0411 from Denmark with 26 ratings

Ikke helt balanceret og har ikke så lang en eftersmag, men en god rom uden megen sødme