Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Dictador 20-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador iconic product. Dictador 20 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in ex-Port casks. Your rum for the special occasion. Taste it neat!

7.4/10(316 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
7
37
89
99
60
12

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

316 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jack from United States with 27 ratings

Beautiful bottle. Rum not as special. It is decent. Nothing remarkable. A bit spicy and hot.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

I’d probably rate this rum an 8 on the nose alone. The Intoxicating aroma of caramel/toffee really set the stage & the warming caramel & maple syrup tones on the palate were quite enjoyable. I assume this has a decent dose of sugar added, but I still found it to be super delish!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Zamfymad from Romania with 14 ratings

Not much to say about this rum. I just didn't find anything spectacular about it. Nothing especially bad either. More expensive than a Diplomatico, but deffinitely not better.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 25 ratings

This is quite a unique rum with coffee notes both on the nose and palate together with oak, maple syrup and milk chocolate. What a nice dram. It tastes amazing on a old fashioned but I would keep it neat as the price for a bottle is quite high.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 252 ratings

First Dictador tasting been reading good things about them. Very smooth rum first taste of caramel on my tongue, reminiscent of Papa Pilar in a much better way. Pilar taste fake and I want to pour it on my pancakes only. This is much more refined and enjoyable. After trying again leaves a strange aftertaste and initial caramel tastes artificial. Not for me at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 408 ratings

Already in aroma you can detect typical Dictador tone. Taste is smooth, sweeter with coffee and chocolate tones. Aftertaste is average. Better than 12y but not too much.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

The flavor is close to Dictador 12 year. However, this one has more mild taste and rich.
It has nice chocolate, coffee and custerd flavor. and also has the flavor of wood.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

If you've had the 12yo, this is like that but more!

The nose is prune-like Christmas cake, which is carried through on the palate, along with hints of coffee. It is incredibly smooth, with the hit of alcohol coming at the back end. A beautiful long finish.

It may not be everyone's style, but even if not, the high class of distilling should be plain to see.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Niklas from Austria with 2 ratings

Well I'm an 18 year old who in contrary to literally every one of my friends enjoys good alcohol instead of drinking it for the sake of getting wasted. At first I bought it for my father as a present. He really liked it and so did I and shortly I just bought one for myself. I sadly don't have a lot of experience concerning rum but I'll get to compare it to the Cubaney Centenario soon which I ordered yesterday.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael Cottrill from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Had in BK. Good. Neat.............................

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

Got quite excited after tasting it's younger brother (the 12 Y.O.), so I obviously expected too much before sipping this one.
I don't mention that as an introduction to be followed by a comparison between them.
Both are nice and overall qualitative Rums. If you can spend the extra money, go for this one, at least once. It's more classy.
Personally, I wasn't able to justify the price difference.
Promised myself to try the "Insolent" edition and if necessary update both previous reviews...