Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Dictador 20-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador iconic product. Dictador 20 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in ex-Port casks. Your rum for the special occasion. Taste it neat!

7.4/10 (292 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
7
35
86
92
52
8

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


292 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 1 year ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 70 ratings

Now this is some tasty stuff. When I reviewed the dictador 12 year I already said that the two are not to compare at all. This one is so smooth, almost silkish and sweet with a fine and pleasant burn. Rum as sweet as the Colombian women!!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

According to rum-geek D.N. Bascunan, the reason that Dictador rums all have that weird licorice/coffee profile is because most of the time they bottle Colombian aguardiente, which is heavily anise-infused. When they get around to bottling their rum, that anise flavor is still in the pipes and it doesn't go away. The result: flavored rum...licorice and coffee, to be exact. Hard to take this rum seriously. Weird taste, too sweet, one-dimensional. No thank you.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

The Dictador rum's really got there own thing going, and the 20 year is no exception. The nose has a darkish profile with notes of liqourice, oak, coffee and a hint of honey. The palate is medium bodied and unfolds with a nutty expression of the same notes found in the nose. Compared to the 12 year, the taste seems a little more subtle. The smooth, but also slightly bitter, finish lingers for a long time and leaves your mouth coated with an oily feeling. It's ok but the 12 year is better value, and to me also more enjoyable and better balanced.

Ffffff

Posted 3 hours ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 79 ratings

Dictador 20y krásně voní a má příjemnou, vyzrálou nasládlou chuť. Láhev vypita v menším kruhu přátel, všem nám připadalo, že je v rumu cítít ořechy. Poměr cena/výkon velmi dobrý.

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 36 ratings

I’d probably rate this rum an 8 on the nose alone. The Intoxicating aroma of caramel/toffee really set the stage & the warming caramel & maple syrup tones on the palate were quite enjoyable. I assume this has a decent dose of sugar added, but I still found it to be super delish!

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Zamfymad from Romania with 13 ratings

Not much to say about this rum. I just didn't find anything spectacular about it. Nothing especially bad either. More expensive than a Diplomatico, but deffinitely not better.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 23 ratings

This is quite a unique rum with coffee notes both on the nose and palate together with oak, maple syrup and milk chocolate. What a nice dram. It tastes amazing on a old fashioned but I would keep it neat as the price for a bottle is quite high.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 205 ratings

First Dictador tasting been reading good things about them. Very smooth rum first taste of caramel on my tongue, reminiscent of Papa Pilar in a much better way. Pilar taste fake and I want to pour it on my pancakes only. This is much more refined and enjoyable. After trying again leaves a strange aftertaste and initial caramel tastes artificial. Not for me at this price point.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 336 ratings

Already in aroma you can detect typical Dictador tone. Taste is smooth, sweeter with coffee and chocolate tones. Aftertaste is average. Better than 12y but not too much.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

If you've had the 12yo, this is like that but more!

The nose is prune-like Christmas cake, which is carried through on the palate, along with hints of coffee. It is incredibly smooth, with the hit of alcohol coming at the back end. A beautiful long finish.

It may not be everyone's style, but even if not, the high class of distilling should be plain to see.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Niklas from Austria with 2 ratings

Well I'm an 18 year old who in contrary to literally every one of my friends enjoys good alcohol instead of drinking it for the sake of getting wasted. At first I bought it for my father as a present. He really liked it and so did I and shortly I just bought one for myself. I sadly don't have a lot of experience concerning rum but I'll get to compare it to the Cubaney Centenario soon which I ordered yesterday.