Posting your rating...
Dictador 20-Year rum

Rate Dictador 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


264 Dictador 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Kaleva from Finland with 3 ratings

Nice rum with pleasant and rich nose producing 3 main components: coffee, cane sugar and pecan nuts. Pleasant and easy-going, sweet but having surprisingly short aftertaste as for 20 yo distillate.

Tasting notes:

Nose: Sweet, thick, coffee, brown sugar, pecan nuts, caramel, vanilla, hint of cinnamon

Palate: Sweet, slightly spicy (ginger, cloves, cardamom), latte, caramel, honey notes, herbs with light bitterness, oak on the background

Finish: Short, sweet, somewhat dry, oaky, notes of dried dark fruits

Posted about 4 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Taste is good so far, but gone too fast ... Maybe more % of Alc could help?!

Posted about 4 years ago by Brett Martinez from United States with 13 ratings

I think this rum is very good. I don't like my rums to be very sweet. This is a very nice non sweet rum

Posted about 4 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Der Rum ist recht mild und weich und nicht sehr süss. Für mich schmeckt er recht penetrant nach Nüssen, finde ich irgendwie komisch, trifft nicht ganz mein Geschmack.

Posted about 4 years ago by Luc from Canada with 8 ratings

Arôme de caramel, très bon sur glace mais dispendieux

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Bon petit rhum qui se prend bien sur glace, mais a ce prix il y en a des meilleurs

Posted about 4 years ago by Adrian Sanabria from United States with 4 ratings

One of the best rums I've had - noting that I've never gone very far upscale with my rums... still, this is very similar to Pyrat in taste, which is what, 4 times cheaper? The one bottle I did get my hands on was mistakenly mispriced, however, and I snagged it for $40. My first and last taste of Dictador.

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Schou from Denmark with 21 ratings

Har en god eftersmag, men er lidt kraftig og sprittet i starten når den kommer ind i munden.

Posted over 4 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Just tasted this Dictador 20y old. I was curious, read about that the the 12y old is as good as the 20y. I like the 20y old, last long and keeps me warm.

Posted over 4 years ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Sweet & smooth.

Posted over 4 years ago by Problematic from United States with 1 rating

I was excited to bring home the Dictator and pop the top. The nose Vanilla, honey, leather and clove. Cookie dough flavors on first sip, more vanilla some heat and it's gone. Initially got some cachaca flavors which I guess is due to the fact that this is not a Molasses based rum. Rather quick finish. This will be second or third pour with a cigar.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I got a bottle of this at Dorignacs in New Orleans, LA on a major rum buying spree (they have a lot of rums I never saw locally). The aroma in the bottle is wonderful...definitely caramel overtones that unfortunately do not transfer over as well in regards to flavor. Don't get me wrong, this is an excellent rum just not worth the asking amount for the solera aged rum. I think about $10-$15 less would be better. However with that said the rum has more oak flavor than one would expect from a 20 year rum...even a solera system rum but it's not harsh either. It has a mild sweetness and a warmth in the back of the throat...no burn. It is a complex rum and it is SO close to a 9 but I just couldn't put it in that category. Maybe it will grow on me. On a more lighthearted note, I do like the design of the bottle...I could see Captain Jack Sparrow grabbing this bottle. Definitely pirate-esque.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Intense toffee taste at first and then the age bits you (in a good way). Then a lot of alcohol.

Tastes more mature than the 12 yr old but not a lot better.

The bottle is cool.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 10 ratings

I'm not expert yet but this bottle was disappointment for me. I expected more from 20 years rum. Taste contains very strong coffee/oak tones with harsh finish. Maybe my expectations were high. Marketing of this bottle is higher than real taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

It is ok but there are better for the price. I would pick something else.

Posted over 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

one day bevore christmas with ny friend heli, we enjoyed it

Posted over 4 years ago by DAAM from France with 7 ratings

Plus direct, punchy et raide que son petit frere de 12, je trouve ce rhum beaucoup plus profond au niveau des aromes. Le nez est plus courts mais les saveurs moins altérées par le sucre.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

The coffee taste is pretty intense and I guess that is not for everyone's taste. I love it tho, one of my absolute favorites!

Posted over 4 years ago by Kukla Martin from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

The wonderful oak and caramel syrup. Long aftewards, I can taste coffee and chocolate. Is extremely well crafted and balanced.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Switzerland with 30 ratings

I am not sure why but the rum tasted a bit like nuts? I prefer sweeter rum, but beside this the rum was pretty intense, flavorful...

Posted over 4 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 53 ratings

Comme son petit frère le Dictador 12, ce rhum est un vraiment délicieux.

Premières notes, au nez, il est pâtissier et plus complexe. En bouche, il est rond et très équilibré. Enfin, la finale est très intéressante et d'une belle longueur.

Je le conseille vivement, c'est un excellent rhum :)

Note : 65/100

Posted over 4 years ago by Max from United States with 10 ratings

I am not an expert... I am just a guy that wanted to find the 'best rum to sip on a Saturday evening...'.
This is one of the ones I bought ($50). It's great... but not as good as a Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva... yet it has a similar angle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stephane from France with 53 ratings

Une jolie bouteille, soyeuse au toucher et totalement opaque. Elle révèle un liquide de belle couleur ambrée. Le nez manque de richesse. La dégustation révèle immédiatement cette saveur de café retrouvée par tous, elle est en effet prédominante. Le reste est un peu pauvre. Manque d'intérêt.
Une marque 100% marketing, sans intérêt…. et sans distillerie !!???

Posted almost 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

Ce qui m'attire, sur le cuir et le tabac, notes de café, pas besoin de glace, une vraie douceur.

Posted almost 5 years ago by boris_dv from Slovakia with 49 ratings

smooth rum , but for that price there are better choices




#