Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


290 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

This is my favorite. It is rich flavor of maple and coffee, also custard, not too sweet.
I can not understand why some people have low rating for this nice rum....

Posted almost 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Do not be confused by the dark bottle, it hides an excellent rum. The aroma of chocolate, coffee, nuts... smooth nose. The taste then presents a soft bitter sweet tone, you feel both chocolate and coffee. In the throat you feel only smooth and pleasant warmness. The afterburn keeps on long and is really fine.

I am looking forward to trying the Insolent one.

Posted over 4 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 53 ratings

Voici un très bon rhum très doux,

Au nez, il est sur la vanille et l'amande. En bouche, on retrouve la douceur de la vanille et le miel. La finale est longue et agréable :)

A conseiller !!

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

On the nose it's almost like a coffee liquor. Taste is honey-sweet (but not too much) with coffee and chocolate. Definitely different too anything I've tasted so far, which I consider positive. Makes me curious about the 20y...

Posted over 4 years ago by Phil from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Schöne Flasche. Riecht nach caramel. Im Geschmack etwas viel Holznote.

Posted about 1 year ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

I love most things from Dictador, and this is a fine introduction to the line. Can be a sipper, but also will go well in a mixed drink.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

I've been looking out for Dictador rums for a few years but they seem fairly rare in the UK. Finally got my hands on some of the 12yr and it didn't disappoint! Good rich, dark colour with an amazing nose that's well rounded and strong without any hint of the harshness you'll find in most

Posted almost 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Dictador 12 is not a bad rum. It's definitely on the sweet side, which doesn't have to be a bad thing, but I think that here the sweetness is overdone and mutes some of complexity that this rum could offer. As a result, it comes across like a starbucks mocha with four pumps of honey. (Tasting notes, in case you didn't pick up on that: honey, chocolate and coffee, in that order.)
Now that is capable of satisfing plenty of people I'm sure, but if you're considering shelling out the $55 dollars for this rum, spend the extra $20 and go for the Dictador 20 year. The difference is night and day. Once again: 12 is not bad, but given a little more time, it becomes something far greater, which is absolutely worth a few bucks.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

The most dominant aroma is a combination with leather and wood turning into a nice mix of walnut and caramel. Below this you have dried raisins super dark grinded coffee, chocolate and a decent sweetness. Keeps a certain heat in your stomach.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

First off, it is a wonderfully smooth rum with a good kick of alcohol in the tail, that gives a good length. It also helps prevent what is quite a sweet rum from being cloyingly sweet. And for me it is that sweetness that is its biggest fault. That's being a tad harsh, as in the scheme of things, there are far sweeter rums than this. It does detract a bit from the wonderful and multi-dimensional nose dominated by honey and coffee notes, which carries onto the palate.

A really good rum, that is just a wee bit too sweet for me.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dukedge from Canada with 13 ratings

Those Rum connoisseurs who like to stock the well with "a cut above" need not look any further. This 12 Y.O. Dictador is very tasty and can be consumed straight up when necessary. My favorite all round rum considering price and flavour. I mean really; 10 bucks for this smooth baby?

Posted about 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Surprisingly tasty rum, acceptably sweet but still without added sugar. Nice but maybe strong cofee aroma. Better to leave poured in a glass before sipping. Finally one of my favourite rums, moreover for a reasonable price.

Posted over 2 years ago by frohikey from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Compared to 20y it was quite disappointing experience. Not complex enough, kinda lacking afterburn, too much coffee (even I'm ok with it).

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Eine wunderbare Komposition.
Da zieht es einem die Nase ins Glas ! Im positiven Sinn !
Holz, Leder, dunkle Schokolade,
im Gaumen kommt noch Kaffee und Baumnuss (Walnuss) dazu.
Herrlich langer Abgang.
Super für einen kalten Winterabend.

A wonderful composition.
Then it pulls your nose into the glass! In the positive sense!
Wood, leather, dark chocolate,
In the palate there is still coffee and walnut.
Wonderful long finish.
Great for a cold winter evening.

Posted over 3 years ago by Yannick from Belgium with 36 ratings

Voici un rhum très sympa aux arômes de café, tiramisu. Il n'est pas sucré c'est un rhum plutôt sec sans acidité, l'alcool est présent sans être envahissant. En finale on retrouve le café sur des notes plus douces et toujours sans le côté grillé. Cependant, c'est un rhum fabriqué et bricolé par l'ajout de tout un tas de choses pas très naturelles....

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un Ron dulce ideal para mezclarlo con refresco, tiene toques de vainilla.

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

My favorite has been Plantation XO for a while, and this rum gets pretty close. Very smooth, slightly less body than the Plantation. A little bit more alcohol smell but not overpowering. I would purchase again.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Flavours are amazing in this one and have a real depth... Lovely smell and taste on the rocks aa

Posted almost 4 years ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Mir gefällt dieser Rum sehr gut. Hat eine leicht merkliche Kaffeenote die zusammen mit der leichten Süße einen wunderbar runden Geschmack ergibt. Dieser Rum landet in meiner Bar!

Posted almost 4 years ago by John from France with 2 ratings

Un rhum assez doux. Bonne longueur en bouche.
Très agréable pour tous.

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 4 ratings

An tasty rum coffe and cacao flavour cuban cigar. Best served on the rocks.

Posted about 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Un rom foarte distins, cu o aroma deosebita. Se simt nuante foarte puternice de tabac si cafea, spre final se simt arome de citrice si miere. Merita incercat.

Posted over 4 years ago by Greg from Belgium with 23 ratings

Toujours débutant en dégustation de rhum, je dois dire que c'est celui qui me reste en bouche le plus longtemps. Très bon gout épicé et doux qui se prolonge encore et encore. Très agréable et pas du tout agressif. A découvrir pour tout nouvel adepte dans ce monde du rhum !

Posted over 4 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Tant par sa bouteille noire que par l originalite de son gout.ce rhum tant par sa bouteille originale que don gout atypique est a avoir en tant que collectionneur.son nez tres puissant sur des notes d anis et surtout de cafe.ces notes se confirment en dehustation.cerhum est doux sec et se rapproche presque d un wisky.le cafe prend le dessus et c est agreable.ce n est pas mon prefere mais il vous fera voyager au pays du cafe: la colombie. Note 7.2.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum has notes of coffee, honey, smoke, cinnamon, oak, vanilla, spice, and rubber. It's a little dry for a rum, which is fine, but it also feels a little harsh to me, as do most of the Dictador rums. I'm not sure if it's just me that notices this; maybe it's the spice? Good, but not one of my favorites.