Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Dictador 12-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador bestseller. Dictador 12 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in Sherry casks. Your everyday companion. Beautiful in cocktails.

6.9/10 (323 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
10
22
63
102
88
29
1

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


323 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

Nose: Let the rum breathe for a while, then discover veery aromatic oakwood and maple syrup (although they don‘t add lots of sugar)
Palate: very aromatic 👌 Begins a bit sharp, but not harsh, and a tiny bit oily. Finishes with some hints of tobacco, roasted coffee beans and oak. Very pleasant, lasts very long.

Positive: Comes in a black bottle: you don‘t have to lock it away from light.

Sugar: only 0-5 gpl
This rum made me learn, that also a ‚dry‘ rum with very little sugar added can taste pretty sweet.

8,3

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 9 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 77 ratings

Rhum très empreint de caramel et surtout réglisse. Produit de bonne facture.
Très esthétique dans sa bouteille noire !

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

I enjoyed some sips of this rum. The 20 year and the XO are much better. A bit harsh, but very nice flavor. I wouldn’t turn it down.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by benje from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

retirement gift.Loved the bottle. deep toffee flavours smooth and ok, I'll have another one.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 243 ratings

Smell: Burned suggar, spices (some pepper), vanilla, warm, spice
Taste: Paper, sweetness, vanilla, spices, cookies, sunflower seeds, bitterness

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Surprisingly tasty rum, acceptably sweet but still without added sugar. Nice but maybe strong cofee aroma. Better to leave poured in a glass before sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 24 ratings

Notes of walnut, oak on the nose. Caramel-y dlavor but not overly sweet. I do prefer the 20yr version but this is also a nice smooth Colombian rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 19 ratings

A nice tasting sweet rum with a coffee aftertaste. Not a rum I would drink on a regularly basis, but more a rum for after dinner or on a cold night. I like this 12 year old rum better, much subtle than the 20 year old dictator.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by AndReginald from Italy with 47 ratings

If you do like liquorice indeed you should taste this one. I do not like it very much in rum, it covers a lot. Smell was more promising, no sweet in the mouth, a surprisingly short finish, no burn at all.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jero83 from Colombia with 10 ratings

I tried Dictador 12 before 20 and I really love it. Beautiful taste, wonderful aroma and good price. Very good balance

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Typischer Dictador Geschmack und Geruch aleerdings noch nicht ganz so mild wie seine Grossen Brüder.