Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


290 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un Ron dulce ideal para mezclarlo con refresco, tiene toques de vainilla.

Posted 4 months ago by benje from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

retirement gift.Loved the bottle. deep toffee flavours smooth and ok, I'll have another one.

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Smell: Burned suggar, spices (some pepper), vanilla, warm alcohol
Taste: Paper, sweetness, vanilla, spices, cookies, sunflower seeds, bitterness

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 4 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Surprisingly tasty rum, acceptably sweet but still without added sugar. Nice but maybe strong cofee aroma. Better to leave poured in a glass before sipping.

Posted 5 months ago by DjAugust from Hungary with 22 ratings

Notes of walnut, oak on the nose. Caramel-y dlavor but not overly sweet. I do prefer the 20yr version but this is also a nice smooth Colombian rum.

Posted 5 months ago by jimbo_bear from Aruba with 19 ratings

A nice tasting sweet rum with a coffee aftertaste. Not a rum I would drink on a regularly basis, but more a rum for after dinner or on a cold night. I like this 12 year old rum better, much subtle than the 20 year old dictator.

Posted 6 months ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

If you do like liquorice indeed you should taste this one. I do not like it very much in rum, it covers a lot. Smell was more promising, no sweet in the mouth, a surprisingly short finish, no burn at all.

Posted 6 months ago by Jero83 from Colombia with 10 ratings

I tried Dictador 12 before 20 and I really love it. Beautiful taste, wonderful aroma and good price. Very good balance

Posted 6 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Typischer Dictador Geschmack und Geruch aleerdings noch nicht ganz so mild wie seine Grossen Brüder.

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

There is sooo much wrong with this rum omg! This is one of the worst rums I've ever tasted! Completely different than the older brother of 20 years. Not even comparable!

Posted 7 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

This one is very good when you want to start to find your way to the drier rums. It is smooth with little bit of alcohol burn. In taste hints of vanilla, butter, coffe and nuts. End is relatively long with hint of oak.

Posted 8 months ago by Cdumas from France with 2 ratings

Ok so strong taste of coffee but sweet in the end.

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

A very strange tasting rum with poor balance. Lots of coffe in the taste, works for me only as a drink rum.

Posted 8 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

This rum literally tastes like aunt jemima syrup mixed with harsh vodka. Zero complexity, the only saving grace is the sweetness and some smoothness

Posted 9 months ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Quite strong, flat but likable. The taste brings the atmosphere of Christmas.

Posted 9 months ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

Not much on the nose. Chocolate, alcohol, tobacco and coffee on the tongue. It has a bit of a bite, but I'd call it quite harsh. There's a bitter sweetness to it...but the bitterness is stronger than the sweetness. Ok, but I won't be buying a bottle. For a bitter sweet rum, La Hechicera has way more depth.

Posted 9 months ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

I tried the slightly cheaper 12 after enjoying the Dictador 20. Sadly, the downgrade is noticeable on the taste front. Not a bad rum by any means, but not as enjoyable neat.

Posted 9 months ago by MielMoustache from France with 12 ratings

I was hopping something great from this one but I didn't get its complexity... Maybe I missed something ?

Posted 9 months ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Nice rum with nuts in flavour comes in very nice dark and perfectly shaped bottle..Why not, go on and try it :)

Posted 9 months ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Not bad. The nose is like a coffe liqueur as somebody else noted. The body sweet. I would prefered something little bitter. The aftertaste is coffe with caramel notes. Its time to taste the 20th for more balance

Posted 10 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

Nose: Let the rum breathe for a while, then discover some aromatic oakwood and maple syrup (although they don‘t add lots of sugar)
Palate: Begins a bit sharp, but not harsh, and a tiny bit oily. Finishes with some hints of tobacco, roasted coffee beans and oak. Very pleasant, lasts pretty long.

Positive: Comes in a black bottle: you don‘t have to lock it away from light.

Sugar: only 0-5 gpl
This rum made me learn, that also a ‚dry‘ rum with very little sugar added can taste pretty sweet.

8,3

Posted 10 months ago by rišo from Slovakia with 20 ratings

sladký rum, vyvážené chute pre mňa v pomere cena/chuť lepšia varianta ako 20 ročný starší brat.

Posted 11 months ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

I gave "100 months coffe" 7 so I must give this one 6 as I would prefere coffe on one hand as liquer and 20yo as rum on the other hand. Its not that bad, but its not good as well. I would recomend you going for one of the other two common rums from this company.

Smell: wood, coffe, alcohol, a bit of fruit

Taste: Sharp, alcoholic, with notes of wood and coffe. Nothing extraordinery

Posted 11 months ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

As somebody who enjoys strong, black and sweet coffee, I cannot but like this rum. It may not rank among the top rums I know, but it does quite well both with ice as for sipping. Different, but still well within the Latin tradition of sweet rums. Definitely a keeper.

Posted 11 months ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 28 ratings

rhum légèrement doux mais sans trop, avec des notes de caramel et amandes, plutôt pas mal