Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Dictador 12-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador bestseller. Dictador 12 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in Sherry casks. Your everyday companion. Beautiful in cocktails.

6.9/10 (323 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
10
22
63
102
88
29
1

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


323 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

Nose: Let the rum breathe for a while, then discover veery aromatic oakwood and maple syrup (although they don‘t add lots of sugar)
Palate: very aromatic 👌 Begins a bit sharp, but not harsh, and a tiny bit oily. Finishes with some hints of tobacco, roasted coffee beans and oak. Very pleasant, lasts very long.

Positive: Comes in a black bottle: you don‘t have to lock it away from light.

Sugar: only 0-5 gpl
This rum made me learn, that also a ‚dry‘ rum with very little sugar added can taste pretty sweet.

8,3

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

Výborný rum, který není přikrášlen přidaným cukrem či melasou. Velmi lehké kávové tóny, které se vám budou plížit po jazyku ještě dlouho po napití. Moc dobrý rum!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Marijke from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Lekker kruidig, zit een smaakje in wat ik herken, maar niet kan benoemen. Nummer 4 tijdens ons Lama avondje, wat nu een Exploding kitten avond is geworden.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 15 ratings

Heerlijk! En zeker op de avond dat ik weer jarig werd.

Nu de 4e op onze lama avond na de Don Papa en dan is het verschil groot. Hierdoor minder lekker

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Very decent, very dark one of my favourite ones so far

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Gastovski (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Rum zraje systémem solera minimálně 12 let v dubových sudech. Z panenského třtinového sirupu probíhá destilace kolonovou i kotlíkovou metodou.
Aroma: Velmi těžká silná vůně hořké čokolády, tabáková zakouřenost, káva, v pozadí stopa alkoholové ostrosti
Chuť: Kávově čokoládová
Dozvuk: o poznání sladší čokoláda, opět káva s trochou dřeva. Středně dlouhý
Sladkost: 0/3
Porovnával jsem přímo s Dictador 20 yo a překvapivě vzešla jako vítěz 12-letá verze. Oproti 20 yo působí neotesaně, přímočaře, ale o to výrazněji ve všech složkách. Škoda jen relativně krátkého dozvuku, ale momentálně je Dictador 12 yo můj nejoblíbenější rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

I love most things from Dictador, and this is a fine introduction to the line. Can be a sipper, but also will go well in a mixed drink.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

I've been looking out for Dictador rums for a few years but they seem fairly rare in the UK. Finally got my hands on some of the 12yr and it didn't disappoint! Good rich, dark colour with an amazing nose that's well rounded and strong without any hint of the harshness you'll find in most

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Dictador 12 is not a bad rum. It's definitely on the sweet side, which doesn't have to be a bad thing, but I think that here the sweetness is overdone and mutes some of complexity that this rum could offer. As a result, it comes across like a starbucks mocha with four pumps of honey. (Tasting notes, in case you didn't pick up on that: honey, chocolate and coffee, in that order.)
Now that is capable of satisfing plenty of people I'm sure, but if you're considering shelling out the $55 dollars for this rum, spend the extra $20 and go for the Dictador 20 year. The difference is night and day. Once again: 12 is not bad, but given a little more time, it becomes something far greater, which is absolutely worth a few bucks.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

The most dominant aroma is a combination with leather and wood turning into a nice mix of walnut and caramel. Below this you have dried raisins super dark grinded coffee, chocolate and a decent sweetness. Keeps a certain heat in your stomach.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

First off, it is a wonderfully smooth rum with a good kick of alcohol in the tail, that gives a good length. It also helps prevent what is quite a sweet rum from being cloyingly sweet. And for me it is that sweetness that is its biggest fault. That's being a tad harsh, as in the scheme of things, there are far sweeter rums than this. It does detract a bit from the wonderful and multi-dimensional nose dominated by honey and coffee notes, which carries onto the palate.

A really good rum, that is just a wee bit too sweet for me.