Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Dictador 12-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador bestseller. Dictador 12 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in Sherry casks. Your everyday companion. Beautiful in cocktails.

6.9/10 (315 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
10
22
63
96
86
29
1

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

If I want coffee, I'll order coffee. Original rum but too much coffee and toffee.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 31 ratings

Very decent, very dark one of my favourite ones so far

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

I love most things from Dictador, and this is a fine introduction to the line. Can be a sipper, but also will go well in a mixed drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

I've been looking out for Dictador rums for a few years but they seem fairly rare in the UK. Finally got my hands on some of the 12yr and it didn't disappoint! Good rich, dark colour with an amazing nose that's well rounded and strong without any hint of the harshness you'll find in most

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Dictador 12 is not a bad rum. It's definitely on the sweet side, which doesn't have to be a bad thing, but I think that here the sweetness is overdone and mutes some of complexity that this rum could offer. As a result, it comes across like a starbucks mocha with four pumps of honey. (Tasting notes, in case you didn't pick up on that: honey, chocolate and coffee, in that order.)
Now that is capable of satisfing plenty of people I'm sure, but if you're considering shelling out the $55 dollars for this rum, spend the extra $20 and go for the Dictador 20 year. The difference is night and day. Once again: 12 is not bad, but given a little more time, it becomes something far greater, which is absolutely worth a few bucks.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

The most dominant aroma is a combination with leather and wood turning into a nice mix of walnut and caramel. Below this you have dried raisins super dark grinded coffee, chocolate and a decent sweetness. Keeps a certain heat in your stomach.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

First off, it is a wonderfully smooth rum with a good kick of alcohol in the tail, that gives a good length. It also helps prevent what is quite a sweet rum from being cloyingly sweet. And for me it is that sweetness that is its biggest fault. That's being a tad harsh, as in the scheme of things, there are far sweeter rums than this. It does detract a bit from the wonderful and multi-dimensional nose dominated by honey and coffee notes, which carries onto the palate.

A really good rum, that is just a wee bit too sweet for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Dukedge from Canada with 13 ratings

Those Rum connoisseurs who like to stock the well with "a cut above" need not look any further. This 12 Y.O. Dictador is very tasty and can be consumed straight up when necessary. My favorite all round rum considering price and flavour. I mean really; 10 bucks for this smooth baby?

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Surprisingly tasty rum, acceptably sweet but still without added sugar. Nice but maybe strong cofee aroma. Better to leave poured in a glass before sipping. Finally one of my favourite rums, moreover for a reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by frohikey from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Compared to 20y it was quite disappointing experience. Not complex enough, kinda lacking afterburn, too much coffee (even I'm ok with it).

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Yannick from Belgium with 36 ratings

Voici un rhum très sympa aux arômes de café, tiramisu. Il n'est pas sucré c'est un rhum plutôt sec sans acidité, l'alcool est présent sans être envahissant. En finale on retrouve le café sur des notes plus douces et toujours sans le côté grillé. Cependant, c'est un rhum fabriqué et bricolé par l'ajout de tout un tas de choses pas très naturelles....