Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


291 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un Ron dulce ideal para mezclarlo con refresco, tiene toques de vainilla.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

Very thick, oily consistency, orange and brown sugar with great amount spice - just right. Long finish that lingers, but with the oil a little too long even with a splash of water.

Posted about 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

My understanding of this 12 year rum is not that the oldest rum is 12 years rather this is some type of average (according to a Dictador rep) from rums between 8 and 14 years old. After all blending is said and done equals 12 years of age.

I just cracked open a 12 year old bottle after finding it in a local release with a great price and never actually seeing it in store before. This bottle came in a coaster box meaning just that... a half inch cardboard coaster. The bottle has a natural cork.

My initial thoughts here... Nosing nothing unexpected very subdued alcohol, coffee, cinnamon buns, vanilla, butterscotch, some fruit.

The tasting..

Very forward in the entire palate and back of the throat. After the initial blast which I consider to be a slight burn with slight spice near the end the flavors develop and is completely smooth by its exit. The initial entry is quite a surprise to me as is the burn for a 40% spirit. The main flavors I get are somewhat complex in their change from butterscotch, vanilla, dark chocolate, ending with a sweet caramel finish with forward distinct coffee flavor?

I find if I leave this one in the mouth too long before a swallow that the burn on the tongue is quite obvious and even so harsh that it destroys the flavors of the finish. Best swallow this one fast! Leaving it out to breath a good while helps to mellow this attribute.

The sweetness and coffee on the finish can be tasted for quite some time.

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Tobacco, pecan fudge, caramel, fig... gut something is artificial tasting.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g Surprising

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Rum Dictador pochází z města Cartagena de Indias, ležícího na karibském pobřeží. Zraje solera systémem v dubových sudech po dobu nejméně dvanácti let. Vyroben je z panenské šťávy cukrové třtiny. Lákavě vypadající černá lahev byla navržena v Japonsku.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kolumbie
Aroma: Vůně je hutná, skvěle vyvážená, ale ne těžká. Jedná se o zajímavý mix kávy, sušené pomerančové kůry, kůže, karamelu, vanilky, kakaa a čokolády. Se sklenkou si můžete pohrávat dlouho a hledet a objevovat jednotlivé vůně. (87 b)
Chuť: Začátek je jemný, uhlazený, až hebký, sladkost veskrze žádná, dojem z chuti je velmi suchý, kakakový,jemně štiplavý, jemně káva a Kofila, dozvuk dřevitý až lehce kouřový. (84 b)
Shrnutí: Dictador 12y je ideální pro ty, kdo hledají protipól sladkých až přeslazených rumů, svou suchostí by je mohl oslovit. Svým charakterem nemá ani daleko k některým koňakům. Kolumbie se svým rumem nezklamala, odteď se mi při vyslovení Kolumbie vybaví už i kvalitní rum. V nabídce značky jsou i dražší a starší verze 20y, Dictador XO Perpetual a Dictador XO Insolent.
Body: 86

Posted 2 days ago by Rare Animal from Germany with 11 ratings

The Dictador rums can always be noticed by their unique smell: a lot of the cask, malt, leather, alcohol and a bit of dark roasted coffee. The 12-year is definitely more on the spicy side but therefore with no added sugar. One should give it some time in the tumbler to get most of the alcohol volatilized and an overall smoother taste. Not my everyday sipper but a good choice if one is out for a dry one.

Posted 11 days ago by carl from United States with 24 ratings

Not too sweet, some faint hints of wood and licorice, a decent sipper. I am not a fan of the opaque bottle. I prefer to see the color and also see how much rum I have left :-)

Posted 14 days ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Solera style from Columbia. Decent sipper. Smooth with a caramel smell.

Posted 17 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

They all have a similar taste oaky, nutty, slight coffee taste. But the older they are the more amazing they get. This is middle of the line but it can be drank straight or float some ice.

Posted 18 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

If you can find a bottle below 30 USD, go for it. But maybe you won't. Good balance and sweetness.

Posted 24 days ago by Tom Vlaic from Croatia with 6 ratings

Interesting on the nose - pepper, leather, coffee, tobacco.

Taste is more on the dry side, with subtle sweetness and hint of spices, all dominated by "nutty coffee" flavor.

Worth trying I suppose, decent enough.

Posted 30 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Tak tento rum mi vůbec nesednul po celou dobu popíjení mi v něm něco vadilo, nevyvážená síla a chuť nevím. V současnosti bych si jej určitě nekoupil, ale možná bych znovu s odstupem času ochutnal a zhodnotil znovu.

Posted about 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 7.5/10
sweetness - 8/10
price/value rating - 7/10

Posted about 2 months ago by Edwwa from Lithuania with 23 ratings

Really impressed by this rum. Didn't expected anything, but wow. Nice caramel smell, sweet and fruity taste. Strong 7

Posted about 2 months ago by GigiTOP from Slovenia with 11 ratings

Dictator 12 will delight anyone looking for the full aroma of vanilla, honey in coffee. A treat you shouldn't miss.

Posted about 2 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 12 ratings

Dominant tastes: coffee, honey, smoke, little oak, vanilla. For me not a special rum, but not bad.

Posted about 2 months ago by Kaps_Gr from Greece with 3 ratings

A very nice rum!
I was a little cautious to be honest. But when i finally bought a botle, i was seeking for the second within 3 or 4 days.
"Warm" from the nose to the aftertaste.
Bitter sweet balance.
Rich aromas of coffe, dark chocolate and chestnut with a hint of a smooth cigar-or idealy to combined with a smooth cigar-.
Rich taste and long lasting. The aftertaste remains bitter sweet, smooth and warm.Remindes me of commandaria wine.
Definitely one of my top choices.

Posted about 2 months ago by Kasper Meijer from Panama with 29 ratings

Can't say I don't like it! It's sweet, very nice nose and lots of flavor. Not as sophisticated but nice sipping rum!

Posted 2 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

This is good introduction to Dictador label. aroma is nuts and chocolate. Taste just smooth. 20 and XO are much deeper, but this one is really good as for that price, so good deal.

Posted 3 months ago by gloamingdan from Hungary with 2 ratings

This rum is the one I always keep a bottle of in my cocktail cabinet. It has a rich and full taste with an edge of sweetness, but I wouldn't call it a sweet rum really. For me this is rather a tasting rum than a drinking rum. It has a rich dark texture with strong oak and walnut taste besides vanilla. I wouldn't mix it with anything. It's smooth and warm tasting. It's scent is really strong and lasting, it will stay in your glass even hours after drinking it. The full flavour can be experienced with proper breathing when drinking as some of the complexity only unfolds in the nose. A great rum for the price - definitely recommended.

Posted 3 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Quite hard to give a real review as I bought this, XO Insolent & XO Perpetual at the same time. For the money it’s a very nice sipper.

Posted 3 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

Pleasant on nose. Rich, fruity, smooth, a bit oaky, pretty complex taste. Definitely notes of coffee. Little alcohol burn which doesn't bother. Sweetness balanced well with dryness. Lonnnng delicious aftertaste.
Long life Dictador! )

Posted 3 months ago by Marco Heijnens from Netherlands with 12 ratings

The rum has notes of smoke, oak, vanilla, spice, and rubber. It's a little dry for a rum, in my opinion, it also feels a little harsh to me.

Posted 3 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

I like coffee. Concetrated coffee, italian kind of ristretto, especially after a good meal, on a late evening. Il owe and like a gin called Qahwa, which obviously mix up orange and coffee. That was my first option in case no coffee was available.
This rum is a real alternative to both other options. It tastes caramel, dark chocolate and coffee, which is my profile. So, if you're like me, do not hesitate ! Try the Insolent version as well (cfr. review)

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

Rhum très empreint de caramel et surtout réglisse. Produit de bonne facture.
Très esthétique dans sa bouteille noire !