Posting your rating...
Dictador 12-Year rum

Dictador 12-Year

Colombia | Aged

Dictador bestseller. Dictador 12 Years Old is aged in American Oak ex-Bourbon barrels, then finished in Sherry casks. Your everyday companion. Beautiful in cocktails.

6.9/10 (323 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
10
22
63
102
88
29
1

Rate Dictador 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


323 Dictador 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

Nose: Let the rum breathe for a while, then discover veery aromatic oakwood and maple syrup (although they don‘t add lots of sugar)
Palate: very aromatic 👌 Begins a bit sharp, but not harsh, and a tiny bit oily. Finishes with some hints of tobacco, roasted coffee beans and oak. Very pleasant, lasts very long.

Positive: Comes in a black bottle: you don‘t have to lock it away from light.

Sugar: only 0-5 gpl
This rum made me learn, that also a ‚dry‘ rum with very little sugar added can taste pretty sweet.

8,3

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 1 year ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 70 ratings

There is sooo much wrong with this rum omg! This is one of the worst rums I've ever tasted! Completely different than the older brother of 20 years. Not even comparable!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 130 ratings

This one is very good when you want to start to find your way to the drier rums. It is smooth with little bit of alcohol burn. In taste hints of vanilla, butter, coffe and nuts. End is relatively long with hint of oak.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Cdumas from France with 2 ratings

Ok so strong taste of coffee but sweet in the end.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

A very strange tasting rum with poor balance. Lots of coffe in the taste, works for me only as a drink rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

This rum literally tastes like aunt jemima syrup mixed with harsh vodka. Zero complexity, the only saving grace is the sweetness and some smoothness

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Quite strong, flat but likable. The taste brings the atmosphere of Christmas.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

Not much on the nose. Chocolate, alcohol, tobacco and coffee on the tongue. It has a bit of a bite, but I'd call it quite harsh. There's a bitter sweetness to it...but the bitterness is stronger than the sweetness. Ok, but I won't be buying a bottle. For a bitter sweet rum, La Hechicera has way more depth.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

I tried the slightly cheaper 12 after enjoying the Dictador 20. The downgrade is noticeable on the taste front, but this is still a very enjoyable, smoky rum to enjoy on ice.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by MielMoustache from France with 12 ratings

I was hopping something great from this one but I didn't get its complexity... Maybe I missed something ?

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

Nice rum with nuts in flavour comes in very nice dark and perfectly shaped bottle..Why not, go on and try it :)