Posting your rating...
Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year rum

Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year

Martinique | Agricole | 45.0% ABV

6.4/10
25 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
4
3
10
2

Rate Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Depaz Blue Cane Amber 1-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small screen shot 2021 01 27 at 1.10.11 pm

Posted 9 months ago by Maximilliano from United States with 7 ratings

Sadly, this ambitious U.S. release is no longer produced, and was available at a time when practically nobody in North America was drinking agricole rum - hence the slightly subdued profile. However, having said that, this rum works wonders in the mix and proved to be a fantastic all-rounder with an above-average taste and mixability factor. On the nose, there's subtle, light grassiness with twangs of oak wood and a certain undercurrent of earthiness to it. On the plate, it may seem soft for 90 proof, but the mid opens up with some subtle peppery spice and woody earthiness which is quite pleasant. Finish is dry and lingering with a touch of black pepper. In the mix, it totally shines - makes a fabulous Daiquiri or Ti Punch and slowly evolves into a very characterful and complex number with a great body and balance of flavors - particularly on the finish where the earthy, grassy, barrel-like notes push through and integrate well. I really miss this rum and thought the blend was (and still is) a perfect introduction to the agricole style for Americans. If you happen to see an old bottle on the shelf (list price was $40) snap it up!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2810 ratings

I bought a bottle of Depaz Blue Cane Amber Rhum based on the largest liquor stores recommendation in Manhattan and what a disappointment. There are so many better flavored Rhum Agricole's out there, so skip this one. Nasty burn and very off putting flavors.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 122 ratings

Being an AOC rhun made from cane juice instead of molasses, this is going to
taste substantially different from most rums.

It has a grassy, vegetal taste and reminds me a lot of a tequila. At first when I got my bottle I wasn't a fan, but either it grew on me or oxidation changed the taste more to my liking because now I find it quite interesting.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Gumbopirate from United States with 9 ratings

There are much better Depaz rums than this one, but this is the only one I can find locally. Definite sugar cane smell and taste.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by CSG from United States with 32 ratings

Elements of grass, oak, and honey. Perfectly balanced with a natural underlying sweetness, so while it’s definitely more dry proving it’s an agricole, it is also an undisputed rum. Floral notes too. What makes this one so great is the combination of these complexities with all being present, with none dominating any other, and a super-smooth drinkability which almost makes you forget it’s a spirit. Must be the blue cane; I’ve never had an agricole quite like this one.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by mc from United States with 58 ratings

Hash and unbalanced. Surprisingly from a maker with many different options. Undrinkable neat, unfriendly on the rocks, unfortunately harsh even with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Yves Calvert from United States with 4 ratings

My favorite rhum to drink! Makes the best Mohito!
Has the best flavor of them all!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by gdtrfb from United States with 32 ratings

light in body, little burn, dry overall. Interesting to try. The French styles are not for everyone.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For an agricol it hard labor and it's smooth, taste far from rubbing alcohol that many agricol are.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Backwatertech from United States with 11 ratings

When I had this my notes were sharp and ricey. At the time I assumed better as a mixer. Had it alongside flor de Caña 7 year. My palate has evolved some so I’ll try it again and maybe my rating will change.