Posting your rating...
Depaz Blue Cane Amber rum

Rate Depaz Blue Cane Amber

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


22 Depaz Blue Cane Amber ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

And when I mean complex I mean how it does this complex dance on the tongue. Let me explain...

First off, the aroma in the bottle is enticing...almost buttery sweet...sort of a butter-sugar toast. I like it. Then the flavor.

Wow!

First thing that hits you is a nice natural sweetness with hints of vanilla and toffee from the blue cane but then that turns into a nice spiciness before the oak flavor hits and causes your tongue to tingle. Then the warmth hits your throat slowly fading into a buttery spicy goodness.

That's what I mean by complex. And I can imagine someone with a more educate palate than mine would be able to distinguish even more levels of flavor.

This is a very good agricole rum that would work well by itself as a sipping rum as well as a rum used in mixed drinks and colas. Definitely versatile. Even though I have not tried one myself I imagine this would be an excellent rum for hot toddys.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2584 ratings

I bought a bottle of Depaz Blue Cane Amber Rhum based on the largest liquor stores recommendation in Manhattan and what a disappointment. There are so many better flavored Rhum Agricole's out there, so skip this one. Nasty burn and very off putting flavors.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Being an AOC rhun made from cane juice instead of molasses, this is going to
taste substantially different from most rums.

It has a grassy, vegetal taste and reminds me a lot of a tequila. At first when I got my bottle I wasn't a fan, but either it grew on me or oxidation changed the taste more to my liking because now I find it quite interesting.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

Hash and unbalanced. Surprisingly from a maker with many different options. Undrinkable neat, unfriendly on the rocks, unfortunately harsh even with coke.

D5241215e2166c825424ba6a301484f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Yves Calvert from United States with 4 ratings

My favorite rhum to drink! Makes the best Mohito!
Has the best flavor of them all!

1fa52fc70d4601547df4870b2e60c52b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by gdtrfb from United States with 30 ratings

light in body, little burn, dry overall. Interesting to try. The French styles are not for everyone.

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

For an agricol it hard labor and it's smooth, taste far from rubbing alcohol that many agricol are.

9cbe9f36448645a6a9e59d5ad5b3aa50.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Backwatertech from United States with 11 ratings

When I had this my notes were sharp and ricey. At the time I assumed better as a mixer. Had it alongside flor de Caña 7 year. My palate has evolved some so I’ll try it again and maybe my rating will change.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

Perusing through all of my ratings for rhum agricoles, it seemed like an impossibility to pair great taste with a decent price. Most of the ones that I have yet to try are seriously overpriced. Many months ago, I remember looking up reviews on this one, but it was nowhere to be found on liquor store shelves in my area. Well today, I ran across a bottle of this for only $31 and figured that it could rate as a 7 at best.

I poured a half ounce into the snifter and let it breathe for a while. The aroma is very unique, possibly from the rare blue cane used to distill it. The taste is super smooth and buttery and is one of those rums that it would be all too easy to consume the whole bottle neat. My goodness, this stuff is close to heaven! It makes a great Mai Tai when perfectly paired to Smith & Cross Traditional Jamaican rum (or other favorite Jamaican), but why waste it as a mixer. However, it is cheap enough to do such a thing and not feel guilty.

This leads to another question. If this lesser known brand from Martinique beats the taste out of the other ones and is priced this low, how much are those other brands ripping everyone off? I am so glad that I did not abandon my search for a great rhum agricole at a sensible price.

Update February 13, 2019: Out of the 10 Martinquan rhum agricoles that I have tried, this is the only one deserving of my rating of an 8. This also includes going up against 3 from Haiti, 2 from Louisiana and 1 from Florida.

Update August 29, 2019: I tried to buy another bottle of this from the same merchant that I got my first bottle from. I was told that I had gotten that bottle on clearance, which is why it was so cheap. They will not stock it anymore. So this was a once in a lifetime treat. If you do find a bottle of this, it is the best rhum agricole for adding to Appleton Reserve Blend and Clement Creole Shrub to make the perfect Mai Tai. If you can't find this rhum, then Rhum J.M. VO is the next best bet.

032c92b27621a9308c9babc9ea3c029f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Dino Farnum from United States with 1 rating

I’m a chef and use it in Glazes sauce it’s amazing sipping rum smooth and not over powering

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Earthy, woodsy, grassy common with Agricole and cachaca rhums. This has a nice flavor which I'm sure has something to do with the sweet and flavorful blue sugarcane and fertile volcanic soil.
Class act that should be included in everyone's collection, house rhum and liquor cabinet.