Posting your rating...
Skipper Dark rum

Skipper Dark

Guyana | Dark

6.5/10
31 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
5
10
8
1

Rate Skipper Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

31 Skipper Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Nose: Strong dark sugar and spices
Feel: Very smooth. Surprisingly sippable. Long finish.
Taste: Familiar Demerara taste. Quite woody with a hint of spice notably black pepper.
Price: 35 CAD.

I was waiting for my local to get more Lemon Hart 80 proof in because I was getting low and to my surprise another Demerara showed up. Normally this kind of rum is reserved for cocktails or on the rocks however I find this to be very sippable neat. I wouldn't say it is a replacement to LH - which is 10 bucks cheaper and works better in cocktails - however I think can sit on the shelf quite comfortably next to it.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 201 ratings

I didn’t think I was going to like it. Nice molasses smell. Wonderful dark color. Enjoyed the flavor, less molasses than odor would have suggested. A bit strong with the after burn. Mixed nice with coke. Wish it didn’t have a screw top. 5.5 - 6 on my scale.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by djk373 from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Easy drinking rum in which the molasses come through strong. Enjoyed straight or with coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 89 ratings

This rum has a distinct molasses taste and packs a nice punch. The latest addition to the shelf for dark mixers.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

Skipper rum has a really nice deep dark red colour, and a pleasantly sweet (with a little alcohol) smell. This rum starts with a heavy molasses taste, followed by a sweet treacle flavour. Simple yet enjoyable. Unlike some dark Navy style rums, Skipper mixes easily with Cola or Ginger Beer, making for a nice light (er than expected) drink.

Small 1612468679129

Posted 4 months ago by Montana from Germany with 74 ratings

A nice smell of molasses, dark chocolate and coffee, quite aromatic. The taste is spicy, chocolate, oily with a light alcoholic burn. The medium long finish is at first sweet, then it gets more bitter.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Thedonoftime from United States with 1 rating

Wonderful darkly sweet molasses flavor ends with a nice finish

Favorite mixer and very smooth straight

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by kevie from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

A dark coloured rum that has a slightly mahogany tint. There is a slightly sweet scent of sugar on the nose.

The taste is rather bland, a faint hint of sweetness, but otherwise it was more reminiscent of a black coloured vodka rather than a rum. As a sipper it is simply too young, but it is the lack of flavour that really hurts this one. When mixed with cola the taste is almost non existent, for those who don't like the taste of rum.

This reminds me of Hopkins Black Rum, but it's available at £14, compared to £21 I paid for this. At that price I wouldn't get this again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Rumncoke from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Strong but well balanced. Falls into same category as O.V. D. with distinct molasses overtones and a warming after taste.
Its got to be one of the most unique unchanged labels on any rum bottle

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Had to wait to finish the Jungle Bird list, but it was pretty good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Not a very strong aroma at all, very dark color which is nice, flavor is very light but has a burn and not so nice aftertaste. Might be a better mixer than a sipping rum.