Posting your rating...
Skipper Dark rum

Skipper Dark

Guyana | Dark

6.4/10 (29 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
4
10
7
1

Rate Skipper Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Skipper Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Wasn't expecting much as I'd never heard of it prior to spotting it in a rum festival but I was pleasantly surprised by a fairly smooth and very rich demerara rum. Nothing special in terms of flavour and complexity but a solid dark rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV (there is a 45% version in the US). Nice warm nose. Lots of caramel and vanilla. Tastes exactly how you might expect. Rich, with that chocolate chip cookie dough character. Slightly bitter finish (molasses?). Easy drinking. Would make for a great mixer.

Looking forward to trying the 45%...

7-, 6+

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum during a tasting seminar at Cardiff Rum Festival.

It's a dark rum from Guyana. The bottle still bears the original label from its launch back in the 1930s! It's a good mixer for its price and I almost certainly would not have come across this had it not been for the seminar I attended.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 424 ratings

Skipper rum has a really nice deep dark red colour, and a pleasantly sweet (with a little alcohol) smell. This rum starts with a heavy molasses taste, followed by a sweet treacle flavour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

The nose is great, the aftertaste is really nice, but the taste itself is a bit bland.

On the nose you have - lovely burnt brown sugar, molasses, wood, madeira wine
On taste - not much compared to many rums, but molasses and a spirit kick, certainly, mainly a touch of sherry
On the aftertaste - a lot more comes through and a certain woodiness, leather, fruitiness and a sweet tang

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 214 ratings

Un rom straight... Pur, adevărat. Ușor after taste, probabil foarte bun în mix-uri dar eu îl prefer "on the rocks" :)

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

This is not a rum to have on its own, but it's powerful enough to come through with a molasses flavor when mixed with anything. A recommendable mixer but not a recommended rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Dino from Germany with 43 ratings

Not great but not too bad either. Smooth but without real character, smoke notes and a bitter aftertaste. Used in a cocktail it works out fine but gives it a bit of a strange note. I´d always prefer a Wood`s or a Lemon Hart to this one. Best in a Dark and Stormy with lime and Ginger beer...

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

A dark rum but does not have a depth of flavour compared to others ..i had it with cola which was lovely but not outstanding

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 69 ratings

Not as 'rich' as Wood's, but certainly smoother, and tastier making it one of the best dark/navy style rums out there. Mixes well in the common favourites like cola, dark n stormy, grog, lemonade etc, and isn't too bad straight either. I would agree with the 'lack of complexity', but rum is rum and this is a dark rum and this is how dark rums should taste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

I must have something to collect, so here is another fine rum.
In time, i must taste it, but not now :)