Posting your rating...
Lemon Hart 151 rum

Rate Lemon Hart 151

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


56 Lemon Hart 151 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

love it as a floater in tiki drinks. A must have in the cabinet.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Wow. I really wasn't expecting the new LH 151 to be as flavorful as it is. I really enjoy it, and in a shoot-out with the classic LH 151, it's smoother, less harsh, and while it has a bit less of the demerara note, it has a really consistent flavor that lasts. Tremendous.

Posted almost 4 years ago by DocRoe from United States with 4 ratings

Picked up @TheAustinShaker - sipping at full strength the 75.5% ETOH is a bit overwhelming but the caramel, dry fruit and dark molasses are all there and fantastic.

Posted 19 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

My go-to Demerara rum for my Three Dots and a Dash. The wonderful rich molasses flavors really cut through and make the ...- shine.

Posted about 1 year ago by jcapable from United States with 7 ratings

Whoowee. This stuff will really knock your socks off! The only rum to use when 151 is called for. So much flavor packed in to every punch.

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Vraiment très fort en alcool, 75.5%
Préférable avec de la glace. Très astringent et inflammable selon l'étiquette! Ne pas fumer avec un verre de Lemon Hart 151 Overproof

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

Look, you must know this is not a sipping rum, I use it for many Don the Beachcomber classic tiki mixes. It is meant to stand out amongst the many fruit syrups and juices and is a must have for any self respecting Polynesian mixologist! I sipped it and almost went blind, haha, but I digress, this is a special legendary and useful rum in use to this day at such tiki temples like the Mai Kai in Ft. lauderdale, Aloha!

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Lemon Hart 151 yellow label (current) - 75.5% ABV. Review forthcoming. 7+

Lemon Hart 151 red label (previous) - 75.5% ABV. N: Deep caramel and Demerara sugar. Tickles nose, but doesn't smell like alcohol. P: Huge. Explodes with molasses and oak. Semisweet chocolate chips. Rich chocolate chip cookie dough. With water: spice; anise? Pineapple!? Finish: medium-short. 8-

Ah, the venerable Lemon Hart 151. Unmistakable in cocktails. And strangely, while I don't get a chance to use it often, it is one of the few things that I've actually experienced cravings for as a long afternoon at the office draws on. "Oooh, you know what sounds good right now—something with that rich, deep, demerara profile you can only get from a certain kind of rum..." Cobra's Fang, 151 Swizzle, Jet Pilot, Trader Vic's Myrtle Bank Punch, Don the Beachcomber's Zombie... any Guyana 151 will work beautifully these. My favorite is probably Hamilton's, followed closely by the red label (which he had a hand in). The current yellow label is fine, but my least favorite of the bunch. How fortunate are we, now, to have more than one option to choose from, compared to just a few years ago when you would be hard-pressed to find any?

Posted over 3 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

LH 151 was a legend in the world of Tiki and exotic cocktails for decades, an indispensable ingredient for classic drinks such as Zombies and Jet Pilots. A couple of years ago the amazing Ed Hamilton (Ministry of Rum) bottled and distributed his own 151-proof rum from Guyana, (also the home of the original LH 151). The new LH 151 is very good to be sure, but Hamilton 151 is smokier and oakier. It's a fuller-bodied option which makes it, in my opinion, a more interesting rum and a richer, more versatile ingredient. You won't go wrong making your Jet Pilots with either rum. But if you have the chance to buy and compare both of these fine products you'll no doubt appreciate the difference.

Posted about 4 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

I have to say I only use this in small doses. It certainly adds a kick a Zombie. Having a rum that makes a fire extinguisher a bar tool can be intimidating. If you are having only one drink and you want it to be a kicker this will do the job. Don't think this makes for a wise choice as a sippe. Dilution is the key in using this one.

Posted over 4 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

We are tough, I told myself and decided to try this on straight up. In the nose it did not betray the overproof, it has a faint smell of toffee. In the mouth, there is first - nothing. Then the heat sets in - in a very pleasant way, though. Once the heat ist gone, you have again toffee, a bit of some wood, even some fruit (apple?).

I still have to try it in mixed drinks - but maybe I'll stick to my custom of drinking my rum straight up even with this overproof. It can be done!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

So good...so many categories wrapped up into one bottle, so much flavor! I will miss it, and lament when there is no more left on the planet. Lemon Hart is the classic floater to original tiki drinks, also an unsubstitutable ingredient in other recipes.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

When it comes to overproof, funky rums, this is in a class of its own. Fantastic.

Posted 4 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 8 ratings

A staple of Tiki culture, it's a shame this rum hasn't been available in Europe lately. Thanks god my gf managed to buy a bottle in NYC for me and to smuggle it through the customs control (it was stronger than the airline allowed). This isn't a rum for sipping straight, it's meant for mixing. And there it struck me as rather condimental in flavour. It reminded me of a savoury seasoning powder, and of decaying molasses. Akin to Brazilian cachaça, kinda. This isn't a candy-like toffee caramel and vanilla thing, it's pungent and condimental. The most famous cocktail using it is the legendary Zombie, but I preferred it the most in the no less historical Cobra's Fang cocktail from 1937. The sweet and fruity passion fruit syrup makes for the perfect contrast to the condimental dry flavour of the rum, making it even more noticeable.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is great for a lot of tiki drinks and other cocktails. Probably would take it neat but also great as a floater on a Bushwacker.

Posted 6 months ago by LegallySmelf from United States with 23 ratings

Intense burnt sugar flavors are packed in to this rum. I would sip it on its own to get that mouth filling creme brûlée taste. This is easily my favorite overproof rum. If you can get it, buy it immediately.

Posted 8 months ago by Tim bascombe from United States with 14 ratings

Lemon heart 151 It’s great for floaters. But it’s also I have has lots of dark rum flavor is

Posted 8 months ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Very vanilla-y, could almost pass for vanilla extract. Maple notes. Gives that great warming hobo heat.

Posted 11 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

It's an 151 overproof rum. Even in a daiquiri it is very strong. No real flavors just rum and a burn.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Sweet n hot if it wasn't 151 it be a great sip, instead it's a delicious burn...like your ex.

Posted over 1 year ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

Amazing 151 Demerara. Must have for any collection. Unlike any 151 out there.

Posted over 1 year ago by GxRxP from United States with 1 rating

Enjoyed out of a Glencairn.

One of the more pleasant overproofs. Oaky with demerara and vanilla notes. Not overly sweet. Obviously a powerful drink, but even sipped straight it seems less assertively alcohol-forward than its ABV would belie.

Posted over 1 year ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Hefty banana and caramel on the nose. Not too much burn as some other ratings imply. First taste brings sweet notes of apricot and a very toasty oak to the forefront. Very flavourful for a 151. Finishes out with a superb, lingering burn. Tingling all along the tongue. Hardly needs any mix given the flavours compounding throughout. Love it!

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This is an overproof rum, so lets not mess about it smells like it will kill you !
On the nose burnt chocolate and dark iak wood .

Drink it and wow it tastes like a thick rum treacle which is truly awesome and has loads of funk flavours . A Demerara delight, the only downside is that it's very rarely available in the UK , I can imagine in a cocktail it's a knockout .

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Lemon Hart 151 Rum bottle and label design looks dull. Super strong glue and a whole lot of alcohol to the nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end, so better skip this one altogether.