Posting your rating...
Lemon Hart 151 rum
Lemon Hart 151 rum

Lemon Hart 151

Guyana | Overproof

7.8/10 (56 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
7
30
9
4

Rate Lemon Hart 151

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


56 Lemon Hart 151 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

2fd39b0277873d3142c9f9e49e1f4e38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Wow. I really wasn't expecting the new LH 151 to be as flavorful as it is. I really enjoy it, and in a shoot-out with the classic LH 151, it's smoother, less harsh, and while it has a bit less of the demerara note, it has a really consistent flavor that lasts. Tremendous.

244e66a5bd4269f5affe000debf7af64.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by DocRoe from United States with 4 ratings

Picked up @TheAustinShaker - sipping at full strength the 75.5% ETOH is a bit overwhelming but the caramel, dry fruit and dark molasses are all there and fantastic.

Baac97ea921299117675932a7aca870c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 15 ratings

My go-to Demerara rum for my Three Dots and a Dash. The wonderful rich molasses flavors really cut through and make the ...- shine.

D03dfcfbc12eb2ff80fb79a8ef26b3db.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by jcapable from United States with 7 ratings

Whoowee. This stuff will really knock your socks off! The only rum to use when 151 is called for. So much flavor packed in to every punch.

Cca92d7d837914c21fe178bd74b141fb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Vraiment très fort en alcool, 75.5%
Préférable avec de la glace. Très astringent et inflammable selon l'étiquette! Ne pas fumer avec un verre de Lemon Hart 151 Overproof

A9b576b9fbb2674a32796052c30393aa.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 36 ratings

Look, you must know this is not a sipping rum, I use it for many Don the Beachcomber classic tiki mixes. It is meant to stand out amongst the many fruit syrups and juices and is a must have for any self respecting Polynesian mixologist! I sipped it and almost went blind, haha, but I digress, this is a special legendary and useful rum in use to this day at such tiki temples like the Mai Kai in Ft. lauderdale, Aloha!

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Lemon Hart 151 yellow label (current) - 75.5% ABV. Review forthcoming. 7+

Lemon Hart 151 red label (previous) - 75.5% ABV. N: Deep caramel and Demerara sugar. Tickles nose, but doesn't smell like alcohol. P: Huge. Explodes with molasses and oak. Semisweet chocolate chips. Rich chocolate chip cookie dough. With water: spice; anise? Pineapple!? Finish: medium-short. 8-

Ah, the venerable Lemon Hart 151. Unmistakable in cocktails. And strangely, while I don't get a chance to use it often, it is one of the few things that I've actually experienced cravings for as a long afternoon at the office draws on. "Oooh, you know what sounds good right now—something with that rich, deep, demerara profile you can only get from a certain kind of rum..." Cobra's Fang, 151 Swizzle, Jet Pilot, Trader Vic's Myrtle Bank Punch, Don the Beachcomber's Zombie... any Guyana 151 will work beautifully these. My favorite is probably Hamilton's, followed closely by the red label (which he had a hand in). The current yellow label is fine, but my least favorite of the bunch. How fortunate are we, now, to have more than one option to choose from, compared to just a few years ago when you would be hard-pressed to find any?

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

LH 151 was a legend in the world of Tiki and exotic cocktails for decades, an indispensable ingredient for classic drinks such as Zombies and Jet Pilots. A couple of years ago the amazing Ed Hamilton (Ministry of Rum) bottled and distributed his own 151-proof rum from Guyana, (also the home of the original LH 151). The new LH 151 is very good to be sure, but Hamilton 151 is smokier and oakier. It's a fuller-bodied option which makes it, in my opinion, a more interesting rum and a richer, more versatile ingredient. You won't go wrong making your Jet Pilots with either rum. But if you have the chance to buy and compare both of these fine products you'll no doubt appreciate the difference.

8a3440989e6150ea036189ad561e71ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Craig from Canada with 16 ratings

I have to say I only use this in small doses. It certainly adds a kick a Zombie. Having a rum that makes a fire extinguisher a bar tool can be intimidating. If you are having only one drink and you want it to be a kicker this will do the job. Don't think this makes for a wise choice as a sippe. Dilution is the key in using this one.

9dea275265630cbb7eb28ce8ff1f0c48.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

We are tough, I told myself and decided to try this on straight up. In the nose it did not betray the overproof, it has a faint smell of toffee. In the mouth, there is first - nothing. Then the heat sets in - in a very pleasant way, though. Once the heat ist gone, you have again toffee, a bit of some wood, even some fruit (apple?).

I still have to try it in mixed drinks - but maybe I'll stick to my custom of drinking my rum straight up even with this overproof. It can be done!