Posting your rating...
Lemon Hart 151 rum

Lemon Hart 151

Guyana | Overproof

7.9/10 (62 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
33
11
4

Rate Lemon Hart 151

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


62 Lemon Hart 151 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Well if you need to break a speed record with your ride this is the stuff to help you do it. Crazy stuff right here, lots of burn on the front side but goes down very smooth, one of the tastiest fireproof rums about the yard arm. Dried fruits and a touch of Tabasco on the finish. Just the right amount of sweetnesss.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jack from United States with 16 ratings

So good...so many categories wrapped up into one bottle, so much flavor! I will miss it, and lament when there is no more left on the planet. Lemon Hart is the classic floater to original tiki drinks, also an unsubstitutable ingredient in other recipes.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rob Bratney from United States with 8 ratings

When it comes to overproof, funky rums, this is in a class of its own. Fantastic.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

But alternating with Hamilton 151.
Hard to pick a favorite.

Good stuff, float it on your zombie and enjoy the day.

Small 8730f4af a452 4df6 a335 caa05c11cd49

Posted 3 months ago by rennerg from United States with 23 ratings

I was astonished that this didn’t taste like pure rubbing alcohol given that it clocks in at 75% but what they’ve managed to pack into that other 25% is a giant amount of flavor that I have yet to find in other Jamaican rums. The most notable note for me was maple syrup. You listening Canada?

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I love this in tiki drinks. It can stand up to heavy syrups and juices.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Drossmania from United States with 21 ratings

A must have for classic, rum-forward tiki drinks. A little goes a long way.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by donny from United States with 5 ratings

High ABV may be scary, but the flavor this adds to any cocktail is outstanding. A 1/2 ounce float will round out and add that "something special" you are looking for.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 75 ratings

Definitely not a sipping rum. Strong burnt sugar and molasses on the nose. Candies cherries and oranges, and oak on the pallet.

This is the ideal additions to had huge depth, and body to any mixed drink.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 17 ratings

A shame this rum hasn't been available in Europe lately. Thanks god my gf managed to buy a bottle in NYC for me and to smuggle it through the security control (it was stronger than the airline allowed). [EDIT: Due to the corona crisis some American shops who have it are now offering international shipping. I recently made use of this.] This isn't a rum for sipping straight, it's meant for mixing. And there it struck me as rather condimental in flavour. It reminded me of a savoury seasoning powder, and of decaying molasses. This isn't a candy-like toffee caramel and vanilla thing, it's pungent and condimental. Rubbish bins sometimes smell reminiscent of it. Don't get me wrong, I'm not the type who likes to sniffle on rubbish bins, but occasionally there is some similarity in aroma, it's the decaying organic material, and it smells rather interesting and spicy. It's aged in bourbon casks, according to the label, but quite obviously it's only lightly aged. It doesn't have much or anything of a wooden taste. So the deep dark shade is caramel colour. But that's not bad, it looks nice and doesn't alter the taste anyway. This rum is a staple in tiki cocktail culture. However, most of these vintage recipes use lots of other ingredients that hide the flavour of the Lemon Hart 151 rather than highlighting it. So you could just as well use another strong overproof rum for these like the Pusser's. The best cocktail that highlights the Lemon Hart 151's flavour of its own is the 151 Swizzle, just leave away the nutmeg and the cinnamon stick.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is great for a lot of tiki drinks and other cocktails. Probably would take it neat but also great as a floater on a Bushwacker.