Posting your rating...
Rum Fire White Overproof rum

Rum Fire White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

7.8/10
26 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
2
8
8
3

Rate Rum Fire White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

26 Rum Fire White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by wayoutwest from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Came across this as a recommendation when looking for Clairins on Les Maison du Whisky website. Saw the reviews on here, and took a punt.
Mixed in a mojito, this really opened up. Still packs a flavour and alcohol punch, but all the complexity and richness really shines too.
These flavour bombs might be spoiling me!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

I had been reading about how this may be the closest contemporary equivalent to the original British Royal Navy style made famous throughout history, and was really curious to try this. Don’t be deterred by its cheesy labeling (Hampden runs the gamut when it comes to branding graphics, but surely makes a fine product) and below premium price point (Under 30 US), this is a vital staple for your collection of cane spirits and cocktail arsenal.

I won’t retread copious reviews recounting the woolly blanket of funk this throws, and instead focus on how it pairs with a simple stepping of additions to the glass.

Off the bat, this reminds me of tasting rhum agricole on Marie-Galante, straight from the tap before any rainwater is added. The abv is so high it is perceived as sweet the instant it impacts the palate, but quickly gives way to that peppery aguardiente heat. Hampden couldn’t have been more imaginative in naming this, it is pure fire. Tamed /just/ enough to bottle and sell; otherwise, we might find it clambering up the Empire State Building with a damsel in distress. Maybe a handful of rummies, willingly…

One small cube of ice turns this into a sipper - voila. Truly worthy as a sipping spirit, a more adventurous, wild counterpart to aged spirits that will undoubtedly overtake anything the follows.

With the addition of a lime squeeze, I question the flavor of the spirit. Here, we’ve unearthed some of the more sourly pungent and astringent aspects of the spirit, pushing the sweet smelly fruit aspects, like bananas, back, and bringing the citrus rot to the fore, as one might imagine the lime would do to this. It almost becomes acrid and unenjoyable, but we’ve left the ice cube in and haven’t added sugar yet, so we’re in the nether regions of a navy grog and far from a daiquiri at this point. Let’s move on…

Adding a fresh squeezed clementine orange does bring it back to cocktail territory, with just enough sweet and tart-ness to balance it out. Don’t worry, the funk is still there, but now we’ve gotta balance the strength with the addition of a couple more ice cubes, and a splash of beirão (weird flex but ok) to heighten the sweetness a couple notches. Would’ve used simple syrup from demerara sugars instead if that had been around.

It evolves exquisitely, almost like a history of Jamaican rum in a glass, and really, you should be pouring this in your cocktails or snifter.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 6 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 227 ratings

This is a triple distilled pure pot still HLCF rum. HLCF stands for Hampden Light Continental Flavoured and an ester level of 500-600.
In nose it’s funky and a little pungent and it’s possible to recognize fruits, fresh as well as overriped.
In mouth and palate it’s still fruity and I recognize Pineapple and Banana. I also recognize Pepper, Nutmeg, Raisins and som Citrus.
The rather long finish goes the same.
Overall I think it’s the best of the three big ones from Jamaica. It’s Funky, potent, complex and powerful without being too pungent.
Pictures: The Jamaican big three & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Smovens from United States with 103 ratings

You can smell this rum from across the room. Super funky, along the lines of rotting pineapples and bananas more than barnyard funk. Overproof and harsh but the depth of taste and funk is amazing.

Small 12195918 1195749710440925 824266838056684870 n

Posted 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 87 ratings

It took me a very long time to track down a bottle in Illinois. I believe there is only one distributor that carries it, and they don't even advertise that they do. Eventually got it through special-order at Binny's, after some investigation.

Wonderfully flavorful rum, hogo heaven. That classic untamed Jamaican pungency, but not so much of a banana note - maybe more of a spiced berries smell, if that makes sense? Very powerful yet not off-putting, as some overproofs can be. Surprisingly clean on the palate and quite delicious, I can even sip it (though I wouldn't recommend that to beginners).

This is incredible when used with fruit in drinks, as well as with certain spices or spiced liqueurs, such as allspice dram. A few splashes in a fruit smoothy dramatically enhances the drink. It will also work tremendously well when used for "arranged rums", such as the french style steeped fruit rums.

Its a Hampden pot-still rum - If you rate this below a 7, you're nuts!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 89 ratings

Bottled at 63% abv, this Jamaican high ester pot still is as funky as Jamaican rum gets. Definitely not a sipper, Rum Fire is best enjoyed when mixed with ginger beer, heavy citrus or even coconut water.

Ffffff

Posted 14 hours ago by RosieSox from United States with 29 ratings

So, I really like the hogo/funk/esters I have had to date… with this as a possible exception. I am hoping it mixes better than it tastes neat! It is missing the fruity or overripe fruit hogo that I know and love. It also is missing that weird grassy/moldy hay hogo that I enjoy… Instead all I got was smoky (yay!) old rubber tires (boo!). I will try this in my Tiki-type cocktails and give it another try…

Ffffff

Posted 2 days ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 35 ratings

Very nice. I've tried several white Jamaican overproof rums up to now, and this is currently my favourite. It has a nicely raw and bold character. Obviously it has more aromatic power than the Rum Fire Velvet, and a lot more than the Wray and Nephew white overproof. But still it's not as insanely funky as some high-ester continental style specialities. I use this for mixing BTW, which is what white Jamaican overproof rum has been invented for.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by wyo007 (PREMIUM) from United States with 10 ratings

This has all the characteristic funk of a Jamaican overproof plus a little burn. I just with it had a fuller mouth feel and more fruity notes.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 397 ratings

- vůně nasládlá, zkvašený ananas a banán, čerstvá syrovost, nádherná Jamajka
- chuť nasládlá, zkvašený ananas, banán, syrovost, závěr dlouhý ovocný a esterový
Pro některé může chutnat až jako jemná meruňkovice

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

This is one of my favorite rums of all time period. And a delicious overproof that cuts through painkillers and pina coladas with serious funk and bite. It’s a great addition, blended with tamer white rums, into mojitos and daiquiris. I can’t recommend it highly enough. Move over Wray & nephews. There’s a new overproof white rum in town. Hampden outdid themselves here.