Posting your rating...
Rum Fire White Overproof rum

Rum Fire White Overproof

Jamaica | Overproof

7.7/10
29 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
3
3
9
8
3

Rate Rum Fire White Overproof

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

29 Rum Fire White Overproof ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by wayoutwest from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Came across this as a recommendation when looking for Clairins on Les Maison du Whisky website. Saw the reviews on here, and took a punt.
Mixed in a mojito, this really opened up. Still packs a flavour and alcohol punch, but all the complexity and richness really shines too.
These flavour bombs might be spoiling me!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Drossmania from United States with 21 ratings

The feral cousin to Wray & nephew. Less finesse. More aggressive. Over-ripe banana and tropical fruit funk in a good way.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Key West Rummy from United States with 9 ratings

An excellent example of Jamaican overproof. Not for the faint of heart!

High ester pot still from Hampden Estate. The long fermentation and double retort brings in that Jamaican funk I know and love.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JGiralt from United States with 83 ratings

Adds layer upon layer of funk. High esters. Lends itself to be a tremendous modifier.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by 5691Aa from United States with 30 ratings

I can see why this is called 'Rum Fire'. At 63% ABV this packs a punch. If you are looking for hogo, its got it. To state the obvious, this is not a sipping rum. Aroma is wild, is that bananas and varnish with some citrus added? Neat this burns, probably not as much as it should for something this strong. I did it neat in the interest of science. This is a challenge to mix. I found it worked with grapefruit and was quite good with Bai Clementine infused drink. I will finish off the bottle, but I am not sure this is something I will do again, this is more of an acquired taste and requires a fair amount of character to truly appreciate. Good luck!
UPDATE: slowly getting the hang of this. Do not drink alone, this needs to accompany another rum. Say your drink calls for 3 parts rum and 3 parts other things.... You make it 2 parts the rum called for, substitute rum fire for the remaining 1 part rum. When done this way blends in much better, adds a kick and you get some funk in the aroma. Liking it more now. This is a good tool to have in the cabinet

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It burns, if you can power through it has some taste n funk, but it's mostly just hot.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2841 ratings

Bought a bottle of Rum Fire while vacationing in San Diego. Very plain and cheap looking bottle and label design. Super strong alcohol mixed with pure funk to the nose and palate. Extremely strong burn at the end. Even mixing this one up does not mask the funky flavor profile. This is truly jungle juice in its true definition.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by IceMan from United States with 12 ratings

One of the most difficult to rate rums. It packs a real sensory horsekick -- blasting with as much funk, ester, and aroma you'll ever find in a spirit. Close your eyes and imagine the color and you'd be hard pressed to think of this as a white rum. It swirls with an aroma of dark treacle, floral, perfume. The taste will shine through any cocktail. Maybe too much so. It's like a violent robotic army playing a hundred violins in perfect pitch.

It's loud, flashy, punchy, and yet I always reach for it. Few rums can make Wray and Nephew Overproof seem tame, but Rum Fire makes other overproof rums seem like vodka. You'd be hard pressed to find a more perfect rum than Rum Fire for the classic Rum Punch. But in other cocktails, it tips the balance too far towards the spirit.

Love it or hate it, this is an absolutely Must Find for any committed rum drinker to have in the collection.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 100 ratings

This is a very pungent brew. But unlike some funky rums, I don't detect a rankness to this one.
I remember tasting this at the California Rum Festival and being very surprised that it tasted this good at a high ABV. I'm definitely not recommending that you drink this straight, but I think it will make very interesting cocktails. A standout in its class.

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/1569/9643/products/Rum-Fire_1024x1024.jpg?v=1491074118

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 324 ratings

8/19
This stuff has really grown on me. Captivating on its own, in small doses it does wonders to a cocktail. Truly a special rum from a very special distillery.

8-

10/17
A big fan of Wray & Nephew White Overproof, I was really expecting to like this rum. As other reviews (on other sites, so far) note, it is remarkably—even dangerously—smooth. It has wonderful high-ester funk, and a boatload of flavor.

Unfortunately, the flavor profile just doesn't jive with me. It's remarkably fruity, but with fruits I apparently don't enjoy in a spirit. Not your typical rotten banana Jamaican. An acquaintance said "blueberries," which I think is in the right direction. I ended up giving it to a friend, and will fill its spot with W&N.

At the end of the day, I do think it's quite a decent bottle and is capable of making some interesting drinks. I recommend it to most, but it's just not for me.

6+