Posting your rating...
Angostura Royal Oak rum

Rate Angostura Royal Oak

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


8 Angostura Royal Oak ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Sold in the local Trinidad market, this is an old favorite. It is not overly complex, coming from a column still of the magnitude of Angostura, but it is an honestly good lightish rum. Very drinkable.

Posted 3 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 18 ratings

Angostura rum made for the local market, straw color. Very subtle aroma - leaves, moist wood, sweet apples. Tart flavor - apple peel and tobacco. And the bitter finish - apple seeds.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lou from United States with 2 ratings

I have been drinking rum for over 50 years, and Royal Oak is the best I have ever tasted! Friends from Trinidad introduced me to it about 25 years ago. Whenever I have friends going to Trinidad I always ask them to bring me a bottle. It is incredibly smooth. It is not only my favorite rum, it is my favorite liquor of any kind!

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a glass of Angostura Royal Oak at La Bodequita del Medio in Ciudad de Mexico. Boring bottle and label design. It looks like its being designed by a 5 year old. Very offputting industrial strength cleaner product straight to your nose and palate followed with nasty wood. Its awful even when mixed so why bother.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Aus meinem Tobago-Urlaub mitgebracht, nettes Souvenir zum anschauen.
In der Nase stechender Alk, sonst nicht so viel.
Im Gaumen Spuren von Gewürzen, Karamell
Abgang ? suche ich Heute noch
Da gibt's besseres aus den Hause Angostura

Brought from my Tobago holiday, nice souvenir to look at.
In the nose stinging alkohol, otherwise not that much.
In the palate traces of spices, caramel.
Finish? I'm still looking for today.
There's better from the house of Angostura

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Tried this rum while on holiday in Trinidad and Tobago some years ago as this was the only rum sold at my hotel. Bought a few bottles and went to enjoy the carnival there.
Not sure if it was the sun, the rum or the women, but really enjoyed it.
Guess you need to be in Trini to really enjoy it, as the flavours of the rum were not remarkable. Still not a bad drink though!

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

General mixing rum that has a hard bite. Not for sipping. Good with coconut water and lime.

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Decently smooth but much too bland to sip. Does however add a distinct flavor to mixed drinks. Great with coke or juices. Packaging could be improved, however and the price is just a bit too high for what is just a mixer.