Posting your rating...
Cubaney Gran Reserva 12-Year rum

Cubaney Gran Reserva 12-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

6.9/10(9 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
1

Rate Cubaney Gran Reserva 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Cubaney Gran Reserva 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Really enjoyed the Cubaney Gran Reserva 12 year old rum. Very hard to find in the US, and I hope I would get my hands into the 18, 21 or 25 year bottles since I would imagine them being massively better than the surprisingly tasty 12 year old. Close to Pusser's 15 year old on the flavor profile. Very nice after taste, but some burn at the end. My quest for the older versions of the Cubaney continues.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Sweet aroma - caramel, honey, vanilla. Honey in the tip of the tongue, touch of alcohol in the middle, cinnamon and clove in the end.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

The taste and smell reminds me of Relicario Superior (but without pronounced oak), Barcelo Imperial and other Dominican rums, mixed with Ingenio Manacas. The smell the best part, it is oak, leather and citrus fruits, mainly grapefruit, the taste is quite sweet, I guess there is some sugar added, oak, toffee, chocolate. The taste profile is smooth, but for me also a bit boring and unnecessarily sweetened. Aftertaste is prickly, something like dark chocolate and leathery, woody alcohol fading away. This rum is not bad, far from it, but if I take into account how many good rums are there in this price range, I cannot give it more than 6.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by TY from Austria with 64 ratings

Nicht zu dunkel.
In der Nase Holz, Kirsche und Vanille. Kein Alkoholgeruch.
Im ersten Moment etwas scharf auf der Zunge. Feinwürzig, vollmundig, rund. Gut eingebettete Süße.
Langer, warmer Abgang.
Sehr guter Sipping Rum um den Preis.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Sweet, woody with little afterburn. Another variation of Oliver&Oliver.
Not bad, maybe 7,5 than 7, but there are so many better bottles around 8

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 213 ratings

Wasn't expecting much but quite a nice surprise ! Copper colour in the glass with notes of caramel , vanilla and spice. Only 38% and comes with a very cheap plastic screw top.
On a positive note it taste better than the presentation..
Sips easily but for me it makes a great cuba libre.. but be frugal with the cola as it's easy to drown the flavours. A very smokey element kicks in when mixed , I like it !

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

With solera system produced rum you probably expect bites of youngsters and they come at first, but only for very short period of time and are almost immediately substituted by the intensive flavor. The plate is similar to the nose; I have to say the rum is sweet and rich in caramel, but the other tastes of chocolate, vanilla and marzipan are also recognizable and very pleasant. The finish is expectedly smooth and durable.

I recommend the Cubaney 15 Gran Reserva to everyone who would like to try another solera experience; this is warming but smooth Dominican rum.

read more on my blog:
http://www.rumtips.com/2018/02/ron-cubaney-15-anos-gran-reserva.html

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 144 ratings

I really like aroma and just enough sweetness and harshness for me. Unfortunately the really good beginning was ended by really plain aftertaste. I wish it would last longer, then it would have been 8.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

I enjoyed the uniqueness of Cubaney Gran Reserva and it is well crafted. There's just a little something more that I'm wanting, but for a 12 yo solera, this is very nice.