Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.1/10 (122 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
16
56
27
11
2

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


122 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4b0ab8327dad1f72500d412b3f88dc4e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Pas mon type de rhum. Beaucoup trop fort en alcool

672a6c50a4e44739f4339e5d5fdf80ee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 30 ratings

This is the most go to rum in my bar. Works for a lot of mixed cocktails including two of my favorites- Rum Old Fashion and Rum Manhattan. This rum not only rates a spot on my top shelf but I also use it in my decanter as the house rum for our dinner parties.

3b870433b83d9374c1f69dc3482bc08b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tim from United States with 7 ratings

I am an avid bourbon and rye drinker. I was recently on a cruise and decided to try one of their premium rums.
I happened on Cruzan and was surprised. It was sweeter then bourbon for sure, it was not subtle in many flavor areas. The nose was confusing, just so much going on, but the caramel, cherry, vanilla and molasses were evident.
The taste followed the nose and I enjoyed the punch of the caramel, almost tasted like an old fashioned.
The finish was sweet, almost like Dr. Pepper.

4ed97f6d3c1f159a394476744699a343.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Antonio from Puerto Rico with 1 rating

First timer with Cruzan Single Barrel Premium Extra Aged. Great deal at $11&change + tax@supermax in condado in a new upscale section dedicated to booze. Tried it neat & then wit & bit of lime. Smooth, good bodied, not overwhelming in any way. I recommend it favorably, great choice. Will repeat &substitute for one I have as regular. The aging is notable, pretty bottle with a cork top

798f29ea71356f05ef44df60b659335d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Stephen from United States with 10 ratings

Top of the line for the St. Croix brand. Nice taste. Not too sweet. Not as smooth as of the other high end aged rums but not harsh either. Bottle as changed. Usually a good bargain at Total Wine.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 174 ratings

A nice oaky flavor that works well for sipping. One of my top three so far.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

An honest brand, which I like very much. I usually prefer the heaviness of a pot-still rum, but a light column-still rum like this can be quite enjoyable.
Light, as I had mentioned. Nice smooth vanilla accents, quite mild and pleasant. Nothing dramatic or showy, just very well balanced and delicate. I'd have it neat.

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Having read some unfavourable reviews I was a little hesitant to buy this bottle, which retails for $40 (CAD) in my area. Those who prefer sweet rum probably won't appreciate this rum as much as I did. I found Cruzan Single Barrel to be well balanced and simply delicious.

UPDATE (2018-02-23): Have tried many different rums since I first purchased CSB, Recently opened another bottle as I hadn’t sampled this rum for over 6 months and as I said above, it is delicious. More an 8.5 rating than 8. Definitely will be keeping a supply of this rum on hand.

509e2f462f18cbd20624f61f9e4ae3cb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Oliver from Canada with 4 ratings

Wonderful with a cube or two. Complex flavours that get better as the cubes melt.

96c3685d0d6cefac4b18c278c4b5b975.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

Straight out of the bottle and into the glass I'd say it's a 7/10. You give it around 45mins-1hour and you have something beautiful here.

D143b657283e7badc00d3d9b05c96381.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I have about 2-3 bottles of this at one time. It’s amazing with coke. I have some here I have some at the lake house.