Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.0/10
130 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
4
20
59
26
11
3

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

130 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

Very good for the price, nice vanilla, molasses, and oak flavors. Smokey spicy sweet in all the right ways I really like this. Update: I just tried this again and I'm very impressed. I had it side by side with MGXO and I like it just as much, it's noticeably sweeter and has more spice/funky like flavors than the former. For the cost of just $26.00 US it's exceptional, and really hard to beat for a "no sugar added" rum. I can't recommend it enough.Update 2: its sweeter and fruitier than any Bajan rum I've had lately, it gives that dry unsugared taste that I like but still satisfies the sweet craving that a rum like Doorly's sometimes can't. While I continue sipping it I realize it has all the delicious flavors of DonQ Anejo but in a way that is 3X as bold. The smoke, the fruit, the caramel, and the vanilla are all there. Delicious.
Update 3 10/2019- it's either not as good as it used to be or I cant enjoy anything not made by Foursquare now. Better straight than on the rocks. Feels kinda young and slightly bitter. Update: 4/2020- found an older bottle with black label and its really sweet and delicious.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This is a rum I will drink again. It has floral and grassy notes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 38 ratings

This is a good entry level sipping Rum. Smooth warm, An honest brand
Nice aroma with notes of vanilla with a simple and uncomplicated flavour.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Got up on it's soap box and declared something was great.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by ColoRobO from United States with 4 ratings

After trying this out a few ways - neat, rocks, aired out - I can’t say there’s much that makes me want to come back. Not smooth or complex enough for my sipping preference, but good with cola. There’s others at this price point I prefer to keep around - I like just a little more sweetness on the tongue, but this leaves a lingering oak and astringency that feels like a younger rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

With the ever growing popularity of Bourbon among a great number of imbibers I'm surprised how overlooked this rum is in the eyes of many within the bar/spirits/collector circles. For half the price of a 750ml bottle of Blantons single barrel Bourbon you can get an equal amount of another great American product of similar taste and refinement in this single barrel offering from Cruzan which is distilled in the USVI & aged in American white oak barrels that previously had held Bourbon. Now other bottles, other than the one I purchased, may not have the same familiar caramel/vanilla/oak + Bourbon flavor meld as mine did as it comes from another barrel. Yet, I'd wager the difference is negligible.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 51 ratings

The bottle notes say balanced blend of caramel sweetness & oak with a warm buttery finish. Some of each is in this light orange rum but it doesn’t deliver the goods to me. Sorry it doesn’t taste/rate like the other premium extra aged runs I have tasted. This bottle goes to mixers.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Boomeraso from United States with 2 ratings

With a deep golden hue the nose accumulates tastes of leather , oak, molasses and just a hint of fruit. There’s little alcohol burn as the smooth liquid flows across your tongue. This is a fine example of the traditional Virgin Islands Caribbean rum. Steeped in history; touched with the golden sun.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Un ron que me gustó mucho. Mucha fruta en boca, suave y toffee. De los rones promedios sin lugar a dudas de los mejores. Deja un agradable sabor en boca por buen tiempo.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marty Machowski from United States with 4 ratings

This is a wonderful straight run with not a lot of added flavors. You get the rum ness of rum without a pantry of spices or flavors

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 26 ratings

I honestly had low expectations when I purchased this rum. I love using cruzan light in cocktails as I believe it stands up extremely well in mojitos and the like...but given the low price point I figured the best that cruzan had to offer at $35 a bottle would be just OK. Nope, totally wrong. I'm new to the rum game but can appreciate the goods when I run across them. This is a very balanced rum with enough complexity to keep you interested. It drinks like a bourbon without that whiskey kick. Very smooth and silky in almost every way, I'm astonished that it only costs $35. It is tremendous on it's own and would do well in any rum-forward cocktails. Very happy with this expression! Great job Cruzan!