Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.0/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
19
56
27
11
2

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Very good for the price, nice vanilla, molasses, and oak flavors. Smokey spicy sweet in all the right ways I really like this. Update: I just tried this again and I'm very impressed. I had it side by side with MGXO and I like it just as much, it's noticeably sweeter and has more spice/funky like flavors than the former. For the cost of just $26.00 US it's exceptional, and really hard to beat for a "no sugar added" rum. I can't recommend it enough.Update 2: its sweeter and fruitier than any Bajan rum I've had lately, it gives that dry unsugared taste that I like but still satisfies the sweet craving that a rum like Doorly's sometimes can't. While I continue sipping it I realize it has all the delicious flavors of DonQ Anejo but in a way that is 3X as bold. The smoke, the fruit, the caramel, and the vanilla are all there. Delicious.
Update 3 10/2019- it's either not as good as it used to be or I cant enjoy anything not made by Foursquare now. Better straight than on the rocks. Feels kinda young and slightly bitter. Update: 4/2020- found an older bottle with black label and its really sweet and delicious.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

The bottle notes say balanced blend of caramel sweetness & oak with a warm buttery finish. Some of each is in this light orange rum but it doesn’t deliver the goods to me. Sorry it doesn’t taste/rate like the other premium extra aged runs I have tasted. This bottle goes to mixers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Boomeraso from United States with 2 ratings

With a deep golden hue the nose accumulates tastes of leather , oak, molasses and just a hint of fruit. There’s little alcohol burn as the smooth liquid flows across your tongue. This is a fine example of the traditional Virgin Islands Caribbean rum. Steeped in history; touched with the golden sun.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Un ron que me gustó mucho. Mucha fruta en boca, suave y toffee. De los rones promedios sin lugar a dudas de los mejores. Deja un agradable sabor en boca por buen tiempo.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Marty Machowski from United States with 4 ratings

This is a wonderful straight run with not a lot of added flavors. You get the rum ness of rum without a pantry of spices or flavors

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 26 ratings

I honestly had low expectations when I purchased this rum. I love using cruzan light in cocktails as I believe it stands up extremely well in mojitos and the like...but given the low price point I figured the best that cruzan had to offer at $35 a bottle would be just OK. Nope, totally wrong. I'm new to the rum game but can appreciate the goods when I run across them. This is a very balanced rum with enough complexity to keep you interested. It drinks like a bourbon without that whiskey kick. Very smooth and silky in almost every way, I'm astonished that it only costs $35. It is tremendous on it's own and would do well in any rum-forward cocktails. Very happy with this expression! Great job Cruzan!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Cruzan and RL Seale (Foursquare) have always been my favorite brands due to taste, consistency and price. Cruzan Single barrel hits the mark with its deep flavor (although not “anejo” or scotch like). Nice and smooth on-the-rocks. Not a daily go-to but not a save for a special occasion, Will always have a bottle in my arsenal.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Pas mon type de rhum. Beaucoup trop fort en alcool

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 347 ratings

In the late eighties, I drank cheap Cruzan rum as if there was no tomorrow and it was still way better than Bacardi. One of my ex-girlfriends even accused me of drinking "two thousand bottles of Cruzan rum" which was a gross exaggeration. Guess what? I kept drinking the rum!

A few years ago, I happened upon a bottle of this at a music festival and tried a sample. I was quite impressed at what Cruzan could do, but had yet to enter the world of the finest rums. So this one wound up on my wish list and I recently found a bottle on the bottom shelf of my favorite specialty liquor store. A major HINT on the lowest shelf!!!!

It smells and tastes like alcohol with no added sweetness, but leaves a bitter taste at the back of my throat. Sipping neat was passable and adding an ice cube did nothing to open up the flavors. At $24, this one is also a bit expensive to use as a mixer, since Mount Gay Eclipse is a much better and cheaper gold mixer.

Update Feb 17, 2018: When browsing another liquor store for a rum that they did not have, I came across two different shaped bottles for this Cruzan Single Barrel. There was one new bottle in the shape of the Estate Diamond Dark 5 Year placed in front of the old round bottles. My old round bottle rated as a 5 due to harsh after taste. I eagerly bought the bottle with the newer shape for only $25. When I got home, I compared side by side with my Diamond Estate Dark 5 Year. This single barrel is orange in color and the other one is amber. This newer version has a wonderful after taste that out does it's faint aroma and taste. Is it worth the extra $5 over the Estate Diamond Dark 5 Year? Yes, but either one will serve the purpose as a very inexpensive sipper that will never rate higher than a 6. As with any single barrel spirit, it is all in the luck of the draw. And as bad as this sounds, this is the best that Cruzan has to offer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

If this is Rum you could have fooled me. It’s nose smells like an emergency room and the mouth was very woodsy. I thought I was drinking cologne laced with wood. I personally would not recommend this Rum as it tastes more like whiskey. The bottle is awesome as is any bottle with a cork.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 21 ratings

Very smooth, glad I got to try it. I would have it again.