Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


119 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E5e3fcca2a52e2133736f492c3ec8492.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

Golden colour hints at it's aging length/process (not too-too long or in too charred a barrel). This rum has a mild sweet smoky scent, along with an alcohol smell. It's a fairly strong tasting rum, with a hint of sweetness, that comes with a burn, and a kind of syrupy aftertaste. Alcohol taste too strong to use as a sipper, but definitely a good aged rum.

4b0ab8327dad1f72500d412b3f88dc4e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Pas mon type de rhum. Beaucoup trop fort en alcool

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

In the late eighties, I drank cheap Cruzan rum as if there was no tomorrow and it was still way better than Bacardi. One of my ex-girlfriends even accused me of drinking "two thousand bottles of Cruzan rum" which was a gross exaggeration. Guess what? I kept drinking the rum!

A few years ago, I happened upon a bottle of this at a music festival and tried a sample. I was quite impressed at what Cruzan could do, but had yet to enter the world of the finest rums. So this one wound up on my wish list and I recently found a bottle on the bottom shelf of my favorite specialty liquor store. A major HINT on the lowest shelf!!!!

It smells and tastes like alcohol with no added sweetness, but leaves a bitter taste at the back of my throat. Sipping neat was passable and adding an ice cube did nothing to open up the flavors. At $24, this one is also a bit expensive to use as a mixer, since Mount Gay Eclipse is a much better and cheaper gold mixer.

Update Feb 17, 2018: When browsing another liquor store for a rum that they did not have, I came across two different shaped bottles for this Cruzan Single Barrel. There was one new bottle in the shape of the Estate Diamond Dark 5 Year placed in front of the old round bottles. My old round bottle rated as a 5 due to harsh after taste. I eagerly bought the bottle with the newer shape for only $25. When I got home, I compared side by side with my Diamond Estate Dark 5 Year. This single barrel is orange in color and the other one is amber. This newer version has a wonderful after taste that out does it's faint aroma and taste. Is it worth the extra $5 over the Estate Diamond Dark 5 Year? Yes, but either one will serve the purpose as a very inexpensive sipper that will never rate higher than a 7. As with any single barrel spirit, it is all in the luck of the draw. And as bad as this sounds, this is the best that Cruzan has to offer.

1a2f9653fb78a426f3ef5809b0953a36.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

If this is Rum you could have fooled me. It’s nose smells like an emergency room and the mouth was very woodsy. I thought I was drinking cologne laced with wood. I personally would not recommend this Rum as it tastes more like whiskey. The bottle is awesome as is any bottle with a cork.

9d130c931bfe27ce8567cfdab49cb7ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 21 ratings

Very smooth, glad I got to try it. I would have it again.

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

At first was going to give a 7 but the more time I let this one sit the better
it was.

2d508820153d8bf2094bee234a004109.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jamman from United States with 3 ratings

We thought this was a fantastic choice for the price ($17). Like most Cruzan rums this has even flavor with a buttery finish. Overall mild taste with a light burn on the end. Enjoyed this on the rocks.

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 136 ratings

A handcrafted blend of multiple rums aged up to 12 years with secondary aging in single oak casks. Medium-bodied taste with brandy-like characteristics. A good nose if left to breathe for a while, taste is earthy and woody with little burn and a very good aftertaste.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Cruzan Single Barrel is one of those rum bottles where the tourists coming to the Caribbean for the first time can be easily fooled to think this is quality aged rum. It's anything but quality. Strong alcohol smell and taste and a harsh burn at the end to finish your 'aged rum' tasting experience.

638d4d32f517f1aa61cf81289e4c7b81.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

Good Rum!! new fancy bottle, Pick Cruzan over Bacardi any day

3ea00e7879ca526d46f65ebcdf5ccbe0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Anders from Denmark with 10 ratings

I visited the distillery on St. Croix and fell in love with cruzan. Sadly not the rum but the place. Whem I tasted this rum in yhe atmosphere of St. Croix it tasted very good but when i returned to Denmark and tasted it again it was a different story. This rum is the most non sweet rum i have tasted. To me its a bit of a cleanser. Sorry Cruzan