Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.1/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
19
56
27
11
2

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

Golden colour hints at it's aging length/process (not too-too long or in too charred a barrel). This rum has a mild sweet smoky scent, along with an alcohol smell. It's a fairly strong tasting rum, with a hint of sweetness, that comes with a burn, and a kind of syrupy aftertaste. Alcohol taste too strong to use as a sipper, but definitely a good aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Hanreb1 from United States with 9 ratings

Adequate for cocktailS but not special. Good price but there are much better sipping rums.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Loriluvsdisney from United States with 3 ratings

Very good rum that used to be a good sipping one for me but I’ve found better lately. Great as a rum Manhattan!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 140 ratings

I like this. It has rich body and natural sweetness. coverd by buttery flavor.
Very close to Barbados rums.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Smooth, medium flavor, bolder spice, full body, caramel and vanilla notes

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This is a rum I will drink again. It has floral and grassy notes.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This is a good entry level sipping Rum. Smooth warm, An honest brand
Nice aroma with notes of vanilla with a simple and uncomplicated flavour.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Got up on it's soap box and declared something was great.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by ColoRobO from United States with 4 ratings

After trying this out a few ways - neat, rocks, aired out - I can’t say there’s much that makes me want to come back. Not smooth or complex enough for my sipping preference, but good with cola. There’s others at this price point I prefer to keep around - I like just a little more sweetness on the tongue, but this leaves a lingering oak and astringency that feels like a younger rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

With the ever growing popularity of Bourbon among a great number of imbibers I'm surprised how overlooked this rum is in the eyes of many within the bar/spirits/collector circles. For half the price of a 750ml bottle of Blantons single barrel Bourbon you can get an equal amount of another great American product of similar taste and refinement in this single barrel offering from Cruzan which is distilled in the USVI & aged in American white oak barrels that previously had held Bourbon. Now other bottles, other than the one I purchased, may not have the same familiar caramel/vanilla/oak + Bourbon flavor meld as mine did as it comes from another barrel. Yet, I'd wager the difference is negligible.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

The bottle notes say balanced blend of caramel sweetness & oak with a warm buttery finish. Some of each is in this light orange rum but it doesn’t deliver the goods to me. Sorry it doesn’t taste/rate like the other premium extra aged runs I have tasted. This bottle goes to mixers.