Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.0/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
19
56
27
11
2

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Very good for the price, nice vanilla, molasses, and oak flavors. Smokey spicy sweet in all the right ways I really like this. Update: I just tried this again and I'm very impressed. I had it side by side with MGXO and I like it just as much, it's noticeably sweeter and has more spice/funky like flavors than the former. For the cost of just $26.00 US it's exceptional, and really hard to beat for a "no sugar added" rum. I can't recommend it enough.Update 2: its sweeter and fruitier than any Bajan rum I've had lately, it gives that dry unsugared taste that I like but still satisfies the sweet craving that a rum like Doorly's sometimes can't. While I continue sipping it I realize it has all the delicious flavors of DonQ Anejo but in a way that is 3X as bold. The smoke, the fruit, the caramel, and the vanilla are all there. Delicious.
Update 3 10/2019- it's either not as good as it used to be or I cant enjoy anything not made by Foursquare now. Better straight than on the rocks. Feels kinda young and slightly bitter. Update: 4/2020- found an older bottle with black label and its really sweet and delicious.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Kevin from United States with 31 ratings

My only other Cruzan rum was their 151 which of course is jet fuel. This however was quite nice. A good blend of flavors and as another review stated it's at its best when allowed to breathe for a few minutes.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Robert from United States with 59 ratings

Oak flavor is very noticeable. Smooth with a touch of sweetness. Good sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 148 ratings

Première dégustation, pour moi pas vraiment un rhum de dégustation. Je vais l'essayer en le comparant à d'autre rhum et voir comment mieux l'apprécier ou avec une glace ou du coke..

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 34 ratings

Nice rum! Goes well with your favorite mix. Smooth taste.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Richull (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

Better than expected. Not complex but very smooth and drinkable. We’re not mad.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 123 ratings

Great for someone taking their plunge into better rums!

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 204 ratings

This rum is a bit lighter golden color than I typically prefer, but I like to try a bottle every 2-3 months and often have a bottle on my shelf. I think of single barrel a bit more like scotch or bourbon. Not a sweet as most rums not as dry as most scotches. It has lingering depth but sometimes I feel it’s got a bit of a bite. I think it deserves a solid 7.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Dave Talkington from United States with 4 ratings

Mixes OK with cola. Kind of a weird aftertaste at first. But after it mellows a bit, quite tasty.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 37 ratings

I picked this up at the distillery on St Croix. Pretty good, though like some other rums better. Most of their other rums are inexpensive. Better than the mass produce Captain Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by frozen from Canada with 10 ratings

Great sipper. I usually prefer a heavier pot still rum but this is a fine example of just how enjoyable the lighter flavours of column still rum can be.

Affordable too here in BC, Canada