Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.0/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
19
56
27
11
2

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Very good for the price, nice vanilla, molasses, and oak flavors. Smokey spicy sweet in all the right ways I really like this. Update: I just tried this again and I'm very impressed. I had it side by side with MGXO and I like it just as much, it's noticeably sweeter and has more spice/funky like flavors than the former. For the cost of just $26.00 US it's exceptional, and really hard to beat for a "no sugar added" rum. I can't recommend it enough.Update 2: its sweeter and fruitier than any Bajan rum I've had lately, it gives that dry unsugared taste that I like but still satisfies the sweet craving that a rum like Doorly's sometimes can't. While I continue sipping it I realize it has all the delicious flavors of DonQ Anejo but in a way that is 3X as bold. The smoke, the fruit, the caramel, and the vanilla are all there. Delicious.
Update 3 10/2019- it's either not as good as it used to be or I cant enjoy anything not made by Foursquare now. Better straight than on the rocks. Feels kinda young and slightly bitter. Update: 4/2020- found an older bottle with black label and its really sweet and delicious.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

Picked up a bottle on a whim and ended up surprised. Not too much of an alcohol punch, and easy on the way down. Lacks in body in my opinion, reminds me of a young-ish agricole. The nose is nice and sweet, light oakiness.

Would absolutely sip this, I don't think it needs to be relegated to a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Schönes oranges Gold im Glas.
In der Nase sehr fruchtige (Mandarinen, Grapefruit, grüner Apfel) Holztöne.
Im Gaumen ein nicht sehr komplexer Früchtebrei, etwas Vanille, etwas Kräuter, etwas Holz.
Im Abgang fruchtig, würzig, holzig.
Ein Rum für alle Tage, sicher auch ganz nett zum mixen.

Beautiful orange gold in the glass.
In the nose very fruity (tangerine, grapefruit, green apple) wood tones.
In the palate a not very complex fruit porridge, some vanilla, some herbs, some wood.
On the palate fruity, spicy, woody.
A rum for all days, certainly also nice to mix.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Wonderful sipper with an ideal price point to match! Easy rum to find and at $35 a bottle, this rum offers an opportunity for anyone to be introduced to a nice rum enjoyed neat or mixed. Smooth and flavorful... well done St. Croix and Cruzan distillery!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Justin from United States with 1 rating

Rich in body, smooth, and wonderful aroma. No need for mixers, on the rocks or straight, amazing taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

This is a great rum. a lot more then I expected. It has a full flavor and I like the true taste from the single barrel. I'm very happy with this and continue to go to it

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Somewhat complex, slightly dry, yet well suited as a mixer. While sippable , I always seem to reach for something else. Good, but not great.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Here in the UK it used to be something like 37.5% ABV but it is now at 40%. While I usually prefer my rums at 40%, I think that the 37.5% was the better drink. The oak tones used to be more pronounced, especially on the nose. However, while the nose is more spirity (as naturally the palate is as well) the oak is still plain to see on the palate. But while I like the bite to it, I have to be in the right mood and there are plenty of other rums out there that are smoother and ultimately easier to drink. I like it, but it could be better.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by E_Winston from United States with 17 ratings

Just opened this one started out pretty smooth but a little harsh finish for me. Going to try letting it breathe as recommended by other review and will try on rocks and. May edit review.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 47 ratings

I've never been a fan of flavored or spiced rums which is why I was shocked to find this Cruzan single barrel at total wine. It was a decent price at $35 so I figured why not. When I first opened the bottle, I was not hit with an alcohol smell which was good. There wasn't much to note here other than it wasn't strong smelling. It poured smooth, and did not smell overly sweet (as some rums tend to). The color is of light amber. After letting it sit for about 5 minutes, I tried some. Again, nothing too sweet, but also nothing really stood out. It was smooth and left a slight burn. I wouldn't say this is the best rum, but at the price point it is better than others I've spent almost $70 on. I let it sit for another 20 minutes. This time there was the flavor profile I was searching for. I could now taste a bit of oak flavor and a little bit more sweetness. I would buy again. Interested to see how this would be in an old fashioned.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by btmg88 from United States with 8 ratings

Smooth and dry rum with heavy oak and considerable vanilla. Relatively unremarkable as a sipper, but a crowd pleaser when mixed.