Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.0/10
130 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
4
20
58
27
11
3

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

130 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

Not smooth enough finish for my liking.i prefer rum with no cola, on the rocks and even after the ice melts a bit, Cruzan single barrel doesn't lose its bite. I'm sure it'd be decent with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

Picked up a bottle on a whim and ended up surprised. Not too much of an alcohol punch, and easy on the way down. Lacks in body in my opinion, reminds me of a young-ish agricole. The nose is nice and sweet, light oakiness.

Would absolutely sip this, I don't think it needs to be relegated to a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 410 ratings

Schönes oranges Gold im Glas.
In der Nase sehr fruchtige (Mandarinen, Grapefruit, grüner Apfel) Holztöne.
Im Gaumen ein nicht sehr komplexer Früchtebrei, etwas Vanille, etwas Kräuter, etwas Holz.
Im Abgang fruchtig, würzig, holzig.
Ein Rum für alle Tage, sicher auch ganz nett zum mixen.

Beautiful orange gold in the glass.
In the nose very fruity (tangerine, grapefruit, green apple) wood tones.
In the palate a not very complex fruit porridge, some vanilla, some herbs, some wood.
On the palate fruity, spicy, woody.
A rum for all days, certainly also nice to mix.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Wonderful sipper with an ideal price point to match! Easy rum to find and at $35 a bottle, this rum offers an opportunity for anyone to be introduced to a nice rum enjoyed neat or mixed. Smooth and flavorful... well done St. Croix and Cruzan distillery!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Justin from United States with 1 rating

Rich in body, smooth, and wonderful aroma. No need for mixers, on the rocks or straight, amazing taste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

This is a great rum. a lot more then I expected. It has a full flavor and I like the true taste from the single barrel. I'm very happy with this and continue to go to it

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Somewhat complex, slightly dry, yet well suited as a mixer. While sippable , I always seem to reach for something else. Good, but not great.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

Here in the UK it used to be something like 37.5% ABV but it is now at 40%. While I usually prefer my rums at 40%, I think that the 37.5% was the better drink. The oak tones used to be more pronounced, especially on the nose. However, while the nose is more spirity (as naturally the palate is as well) the oak is still plain to see on the palate. But while I like the bite to it, I have to be in the right mood and there are plenty of other rums out there that are smoother and ultimately easier to drink. I like it, but it could be better.

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 80 ratings

A smooth rum with a fruity flavour but done in a manner so as not to overpower. Hints of leather. A very good rum for the price of a midrange. Would buy again.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by carl from United States with 53 ratings

Cruzan Single Barrel “Premium Extra Aged Rum, Aged a Minimum of 5 Years”. Decent mixer, but nothing special.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by cmpopp1 from United States with 14 ratings

***Note: This review is for Cruzan Single Barrel 5-12 Year Distiller’s Collection Rum***
I picked this one up after reading all of the glowing reviews, but it’s as one dimensional as you can get. The nose was fantastic. I uncorked it and let the bottle breathe for maybe a half hour before pouring over a single ice cube. The front end was very dry and peppery with a hint of cinnamon, but ended with a pretty rough burn with nothing behind it, to the point that I walked away from it for 15 minutes to let the ice completely melt. It opened it up a bit, but there just really wasn’t anything notable there on the flavor front outside of the peppery burn. I’ll keep it for mixed drinks and to give to my friends who show up empty-handed, but that’s about it. Very anti-climactic. I expected more.