Posting your rating...
Cruzan Single Barrel rum

Cruzan Single Barrel

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Aged

Cruzan Single Barrel Rum begins as an assortment of aged rums, distilled in column stills and ranging in vintage up to 12 years. After blending, the rum rests in a new oak barrel for an additional year before bottling. Each bottle of Cruzan Single Barrel rum is poured from only one barrel, which may increase color variance from batch to batch.

Cruzan Single Barrel rum is produced by the Nelthropp Family in St. Croix. The name ""Cruzan"" is derived from island's native population - the “Crucians."

7.1/10 (119 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
14
55
27
11
2

Rate Cruzan Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


119 Cruzan Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E5e3fcca2a52e2133736f492c3ec8492.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

Golden colour hints at it's aging length/process (not too-too long or in too charred a barrel). This rum has a mild sweet smoky scent, along with an alcohol smell. It's a fairly strong tasting rum, with a hint of sweetness, that comes with a burn, and a kind of syrupy aftertaste. Alcohol taste too strong to use as a sipper, but definitely a good aged rum.

4de7675faaf0335c92e211279322774f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

Picked up a bottle on a whim and ended up surprised. Not too much of an alcohol punch, and easy on the way down. Lacks in body in my opinion, reminds me of a young-ish agricole. The nose is nice and sweet, light oakiness.

Would absolutely sip this, I don't think it needs to be relegated to a mixer.

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 352 ratings

Schönes oranges Gold im Glas.
In der Nase sehr fruchtige (Mandarinen, Grapefruit, grüner Apfel) Holztöne.
Im Gaumen ein nicht sehr komplexer Früchtebrei, etwas Vanille, etwas Kräuter, etwas Holz.
Im Abgang fruchtig, würzig, holzig.
Ein Rum für alle Tage, sicher auch ganz nett zum mixen.

Beautiful orange gold in the glass.
In the nose very fruity (tangerine, grapefruit, green apple) wood tones.
In the palate a not very complex fruit porridge, some vanilla, some herbs, some wood.
On the palate fruity, spicy, woody.
A rum for all days, certainly also nice to mix.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Wonderful sipper with an ideal price point to match! Easy rum to find and at $35 a bottle, this rum offers an opportunity for anyone to be introduced to a nice rum enjoyed neat or mixed. Smooth and flavorful... well done St. Croix and Cruzan distillery!

6ca875021d33e25df4b306e28bf5760f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Justin from United States with 1 rating

Rich in body, smooth, and wonderful aroma. No need for mixers, on the rocks or straight, amazing taste.

Da7718c0762b61b435fa685ed2d668dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

This is a great rum. a lot more then I expected. It has a full flavor and I like the true taste from the single barrel. I'm very happy with this and continue to go to it

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

Somewhat complex, slightly dry, yet well suited as a mixer. While sippable , I always seem to reach for something else. Good, but not great.

edited to add sugar test results- 0g

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Here in the UK it used to be something like 37.5% ABV but it is now at 40%. While I usually prefer my rums at 40%, I think that the 37.5% was the better drink. The oak tones used to be more pronounced, especially on the nose. However, while the nose is more spirity (as naturally the palate is as well) the oak is still plain to see on the palate. But while I like the bite to it, I have to be in the right mood and there are plenty of other rums out there that are smoother and ultimately easier to drink. I like it, but it could be better.

41ea632944b23f164d1110b99c6271bf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 29 days ago by Richull from United States with 8 ratings

Better than expected. Not complex but very smooth and drinkable. We’re not mad.

16c94ff2fb8c4753b4947cb9d31b10b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

Great for someone taking their plunge into better rums!

B36b0679ded69d470417862a473968e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 72 ratings

This rum is a bit lighter golden color than I typically prefer, but I like to try a bottle every 2-3 months and often have a bottle on my shelf. I think of single barrel a bit more like scotch or bourbon. Not a sweet as most rums not as dry as most scotches. It has lingering depth but sometimes I feel it’s got a bit of a bite. I think it deserves a solid 7.