Posting your rating...
Cruzan Light rum

Rate Cruzan Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


50 Cruzan Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 5 months ago by Lex from United States with 1 rating

This clear rum tastes so much like ethanol with light vanilla/sweet flavors. It is mostly ethanol on the nose and on the palate. It does have a decent texture, but nothing covers up the ethanol.

Posted 6 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 16 ratings

There are worse rums out there for sure. For bottom shelf, I'd take this over Bacardi or Captain, but would choose Palo Vejo over Cruzan in a heartbeat.

Posted 12 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

Blend of rums aged one to four years in American oak casks—then treated to a filtration process that brings out the full-bodied taste.

N- Heat with rough oak aroma, some boiled cherry, sweaty and turn wet earth. Not with notable character that fall under the "generic but fine" type, no excessive sugar or additive, rather clean with some tea, some natural candy and whiff of chocolate. (85/19)

P- American oak shows in the form of plum, soft spices and drift of peach and assam-poi. (84/18)

F- Short-medium, though spiky but still smooth as it acclaimed on their slogan in the official site. (84/18)

B/B- 84/18

Weighted Rate- 73pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

A fair amount of alcohol on the nose, which soon gives way to vanilla and fruit. Slightly briny on the palate; off-dry. I'd guess this is a blended rum? Overall, I'm very impressed!

7, 7-

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Drink Cruzan Light neat and it will taste like aftershave. Mix it with Coke and you have a cheap Cuba Libre since you did not want to balk up Bacardi Superior.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rick from United States with 10 ratings

Unique when compared to the typical readily available white runs at this price point. Some oak adds interest.. definitely different than a "standard" white. At $10 here in MI, I'll buy this again.

Posted about 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

I've been experimenting with white/light/silver rums lately because I wanted to narrow down a list of go-tos for stocking the bar with good, everyday mixers. Cruzan's Light Rum always seems to be in constant rotational sales with other popular and mass produced selections, so I gave it a go. Most recently, I've been mixing with light rums from Don Q, Bacardi and Capt. Morgan. All of those offer their own very distinctive personalities and I will get into those in their own reviews.
The Cruzan Light rum offers the best balance out of the ones above. Its lively but not overpowering in cocktails. The nose is rich with vanilla, toasted almond and toasted coconut with a little earthy-nuttiness. The alcohol has a strong presence that isn't overly astringent or detergent. In the mouth, my initial impression was of those candy isle marshmallows coated in toasted coconut. The body is light and crisp with a slight alcohol burn on the backend that fades relatively quick but left me mostly refreshed. To sum things up, the Cruzan makes lively cocktails and offers minimal astringency with toasty almond and coconut notes, mild sweetness and is still crisp but more mellow than it's price category rivals.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I am usually a dark rum guy, it was 90 plus degrees at a little river side cafe and light seemed like a good idea. It was pleasant, it tasted like rum and not a bourbon barrel which is one thing I really like about the Cruzan products I have sampled. It drinks quite smooth straight. For me a nice refreshing rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

This is definitely one of my light go to mixers, especially if I have to make a load of drinks and I want to do so on the cheap. This replaced Bacardi Superior along time ago in my cabinet due to flavor and smoothness. It's a bit aged and I'm guessing not filtered. Has noted of wood on the backend of the palate. It can make anything from your favorite tiki drinks, coladas to daquiries. I also use this with whole vanilla beans to produce my own vanilla extract. Much better than the imitation store crap!

Posted about 4 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

OK I admit I really liked 10 Cane rum, its sweetness and light flavor - it was fun to just drink. So now its gone and thus far CL is the only rum I've found close to that label of "fun" rum, sit back relax just simple to drink.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mikel from United States with 5 ratings

This is my goto mixer and base for home infusions. A bit softer and sweeter than most big name white rums.

Posted over 6 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Love it when bars have this as their rail rum. Very clean, not a ton of flavor, but that makes it a great mixer. Crisp, almost floral, and very smooth.

Posted 1 day ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

Its the "aged" light rum that makes it slightly better than regular clears/whites.

Posted 3 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

For its price point it’s not bad. Another reviewer mentioned it’s unique for its price point and I agree. Want a switch up from your usual Bacardi and coke? This is a nice little palate switcher. Pleasant I would say more so than Bacardi superior. I put this on par with Naked Turtle Light but they have different flavors to them

Posted 3 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

Total middle of the road white rum at a great price point. I won’t retread what has already been marketed to you, but it’s got a little more body than your Bacardi or Don Q as it’s a filtered lightly aged rum. Naturally, it has a little more flavor, too. It still comes off bracing and crisp like its Spanish brethren, so I can’t sip it straight, but it goes well as a blend or in a cocktail calling for this style. Easily replaces the above mentioned brands for its accessibility and value.

Posted 4 months ago by Puffpass from Canada with 1 rating

Smooth and taste best with coke! Over $26 a bottle at nslc!

Posted about 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

With the exception of the more recent bottling of an affordable & quality light rum under the Cane Run label I have always professionally asserted the idea that this is the best candidate for the position of the well rum at any good bar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

This is my go to rum for classic mojitos. The light aging adds subtle nuances that aren't there when you use another base white rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by JBD from United States with 10 ratings

It is what you would expect it to be: a good mixer. Adds some slight different flavors than a Barcardi but would only buy it over a Barcardi if its cheaper.

Posted about 2 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Good choice if your looking for a neutral light. Not overly sweet nor dry. Good price. 40%.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Well, you know the feeling! This bar may stock a few good single malt scotches and high end bourbons, but never would you find some of the finer rums in there. It is as if these don't even count for most drinkers, and this needs to change. All they would have would be Bacardi, Captain Morgan, Sailor Jerry, or Kraken. If you were lucky, they may stock Myer's Dark or Matusalem. As with tequila, all good spirits start with blanco or white. Get the basic spirit wrong and there's no hope for it in the aging process. So maybe they would have Don Q Cristal or Cruzan Light.

I rarely drink cocktails at home made with white rum, since I prefer to sip aged rums neat. However, I have been on a mission to find good acceptable budget white rums that I may find in many bars. When I ask the bartender what brands he has, I have been known to respond with, "Thanks, but I will just have a Heineken" (the beer of the Caribbean is brewed in Kingston, Jamaica!).

I have already rated Don Q Cristal and now it is Cruzan Light's turn. It is light years better than anything by Bacardi and has a bit more flavors than Don Q Cristal due to Cruzan's aging process. Cruzan also has a burn on the palate and going down, but not overpowering. I would not sip it neat as I would Plantation 3-Star Artisanal, but this Cruzan Light would make a good budget mixer at less than $10 per bottle. I have no idea what kind of hangover it would produce and am not about to try that test. I doubt that it could beat Don Q Cristal on that point.

So, start demanding better quality rums in bars such as Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and the rest of my top 10 listed under that review.

The next morning, I did my usual side by side taste test neat against my other leading white rum mixer, Matusalem Platino. The differences are so subtle that the cost differences allow Cruzan Light to win! At half the price of Matusalem Platino and much more flavor than Don Q Cristal, this one was a no-brainer to become my go-to white rum mixer. It also makes a great Cuba Libre and when I order it in a bar, it will be "Cruzan Light and Coke with a lime". Bartenders do not understand the term "Cuba Libre" where I live. Yes, the Matusalem made with the original Cuban formula would make it more authentic, but taste and cost governs here.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dave from United States with 6 ratings

I would recommend Cruzan rums in general. They make a great standard in all flavors with some of the best price points in the market. This is a must have for any bar. The light has smooth finish with a hint of vanilla. Mixes well with colas and boat style drinks.Where it is not a premium you can still serve neat and on rocks.

Posted about 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 25 ratings

I get very little aroma on this one. A little vanilla on the tongue. Very little burn. Finishes with little after taste. I will likely keep this add a mixer.

After a little more tasting and thought, I decided to update my review. This is a solid mixer. I probably won't drink it straight, but it works wonderfully when mixed. Far superior to the huge brand light rums. Adds a little something extra that I can't really put my finger on.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rich from United States with 5 ratings

Better than most light rums. Very good in rum punch.