Posting your rating...
Cruzan Light rum

Cruzan Light

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Light

5.8/10 (55 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
5
8
18
17
1
1

Rate Cruzan Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


55 Cruzan Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rich from United States with 5 ratings

Better than most light rums. Very good in rum punch.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Nerdmiami from United States with 3 ratings

I should've known better than to buy this and immediately try it neat, but I am not very smart. I could not down a sipping sized glass, so i made myself a mai thai and everything worked out fine. Not the worst thing I've had... but I have had very bad things.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Lex from United States with 1 rating

This clear rum tastes so much like ethanol with light vanilla/sweet flavors. It is mostly ethanol on the nose and on the palate. It does have a decent texture, but nothing covers up the ethanol.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 20 ratings

There are worse rums out there for sure. For bottom shelf, I'd take this over Bacardi or Captain, but would choose Palo Vejo over Cruzan in a heartbeat.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

Blend of rums aged one to four years in American oak casks—then treated to a filtration process that brings out the full-bodied taste.

N- Heat with rough oak aroma, some boiled cherry, sweaty and turn wet earth. Not with notable character that fall under the "generic but fine" type, no excessive sugar or additive, rather clean with some tea, some natural candy and whiff of chocolate. (85/19)

P- American oak shows in the form of plum, soft spices and drift of peach and assam-poi. (84/18)

F- Short-medium, though spiky but still smooth as it acclaimed on their slogan in the official site. (84/18)

B/B- 84/18

Weighted Rate- 73pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

A fair amount of alcohol on the nose, which soon gives way to vanilla and fruit. Slightly briny on the palate; off-dry. I'd guess this is a blended rum? Overall, I'm very impressed!

7, 7-

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Drink Cruzan Light neat and it will taste like aftershave. Mix it with Coke and you have a cheap Cuba Libre since you did not want to balk up Bacardi Superior.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Rick from United States with 10 ratings

Unique when compared to the typical readily available white runs at this price point. Some oak adds interest.. definitely different than a "standard" white. At $10 here in MI, I'll buy this again.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

I've been experimenting with white/light/silver rums lately because I wanted to narrow down a list of go-tos for stocking the bar with good, everyday mixers. Cruzan's Light Rum always seems to be in constant rotational sales with other popular and mass produced selections, so I gave it a go. Most recently, I've been mixing with light rums from Don Q, Bacardi and Capt. Morgan. All of those offer their own very distinctive personalities and I will get into those in their own reviews.
The Cruzan Light rum offers the best balance out of the ones above. Its lively but not overpowering in cocktails. The nose is rich with vanilla, toasted almond and toasted coconut with a little earthy-nuttiness. The alcohol has a strong presence that isn't overly astringent or detergent. In the mouth, my initial impression was of those candy isle marshmallows coated in toasted coconut. The body is light and crisp with a slight alcohol burn on the backend that fades relatively quick but left me mostly refreshed. To sum things up, the Cruzan makes lively cocktails and offers minimal astringency with toasty almond and coconut notes, mild sweetness and is still crisp but more mellow than it's price category rivals.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I am usually a dark rum guy, it was 90 plus degrees at a little river side cafe and light seemed like a good idea. It was pleasant, it tasted like rum and not a bourbon barrel which is one thing I really like about the Cruzan products I have sampled. It drinks quite smooth straight. For me a nice refreshing rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

This is definitely one of my light go to mixers, especially if I have to make a load of drinks and I want to do so on the cheap. This replaced Bacardi Superior along time ago in my cabinet due to flavor and smoothness. It's a bit aged and I'm guessing not filtered. Has noted of wood on the backend of the palate. It can make anything from your favorite tiki drinks, coladas to daquiries. I also use this with whole vanilla beans to produce my own vanilla extract. Much better than the imitation store crap!