Posting your rating...

6.4/10 (79 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
23
29
10
1
1

Rate Cruzan Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


79 Cruzan Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Get the 1.75 for $18 when your mixing on a budget. Gold virgin island rums are pretty sparse but called out for classic tiki drinks such as Nui Nui, Penang Afrididi, Vicious Virgin, Port Au Prince.
Preferably use Cruzan’s Diamond or Single Barrel but this will suffice for a party or when you’ve already dulled your senses. As always fresh fruits go a long way in bumping up the cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Jamie Hicks from Canada with 32 ratings

For an entry level, opening price point this is a quality rum. Just sweet enough, mellow easy. It's a lot of rum at a reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by dd639 from United States with 3 ratings

OK, first the price - can't be beat. This is the best rum for the money and I'd take it over many more expensive rums. That said, it's not going to wow you with flavor, but it's not too sweet (which is my preference) and it is smoother than most for drinking on the rocks. Since Myers was my default rum, this has definitely replaced it!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Doug from Canada with 21 ratings

This rum is light in body and in taste. Like drinking straight alcohol. Needs to be heavily mixed to be tolerable.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin from United States with 19 ratings

Typical rack liquor in the USVI. It gets a 7 because it not only taste better than Bacardi but its cheaper. The go to mixer is the best I can $ay.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Its fairly mellow, working great in mixed drinks. There is a nice sweet finish of molasses and vanilla. Also used this in an aged eggnog recipe with gosling's rum (as well as with whiskey and cognac) and the final product was superb.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 8 ratings

Smooth body and finish for the price would definently buy again .. good for mixing too .

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

Not sure why to choose the white over this rum at the same price. Much better for classic mixing drinks. Holds up slightly higher in sipping also.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Tikihead from United States with 23 ratings

Cruzan Gold is my favorite all around rum, mainly for mixing. Smooth, flavorful, and nice aroma, without braking the bank. I have paid between $13 and $16 per 750 or liter, depending where I buy it. I make Mai Tais with Cruzan Gold and Coruba dark (see my review of Coruba). Not enough flavor, in my opinion, for sipping, as I like the darker rums for that, but not bad in a pinch, especially with an ice cube to mellow out the bite. Awesome with cola. It gets an 7 for being the best I've found so far in it's price range.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Mjayne from United States with 12 ratings

For the cheap price this is a quality rum. Great In tropical drinks like painkillers.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 19 ratings

Not bad for the price. Great mixer. Nice to have another economical mixer