Posting your rating...

6.4/10 (78 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
22
29
10
1
1

Rate Cruzan Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


78 Cruzan Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

36c12a78cb8924dcb5f6fe4c053bfe89.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 8 ratings

Smooth body and finish for the price would definently buy again .. good for mixing too .

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

I forgot all about this one since it reminded me of leaner rum drinking times some thirty years ago. I poured an ounce into a snifter and it did not even need time to breathe. Unbelievably smooth for a 2 year old rum, with no harsh burn to boot. At only $11 per bottle, this one is a bargain to keep on hand to avoid dipping into the expensive part of one's rum collection. It is not complex enough to be enjoyed neat, but if one happens to be broke, this will do the trick. It is light years better than anything by Bacardi or Captain Morgan. Going back full circle to what was my original favorite has shown how much I have come a long way with my tastes. Many others are better, but not at this price.

Update: This is neither offensive or memorable in taste. However, the true test is if one consumes too much of it, then there will be no ill after effects the next day, which is always credited to no added sugar. I don't know of many other budget rums that can have these claims. If you need to tie one on and want more flavor than Don Q Cristal, this is the one for you. This is also one of the three budget rums that can be enjoyed on the rocks. The other two are Cockspur 5 Star and Don Q Anejo. By the way, my Q-PR value (Quality Price Ratio) for this rum is head and shoulders above the other 210 rums that I have rated thus far, especially if you buy the 1.75 liter bottle that comes in at only $7 US per fifth.

One bar in Florida keeps this on hand for me because they know that I refuse to drink Bacardi or Captain Morgan. Always ask for this gold mixer at each bar, and if they don't carry it, walk out and go to the next bar!!!!

7fb11e9fd215ceec99284d765e6f4bd6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Zopiac from United States with 4 ratings

Not the most smooth, not the most refined, not the most interesting, but still smooth and enjoyable. And at its price, that's more than I had bargained for.

9599dbb2a9b4b2ec057e3f3bbb6ba51d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 37 ratings

Ran out of mixing rum so I picked this up along with a new bottle of aged rum. Just to give it a chance I figured I'd try it on the rocks. I expected a harsh raw rum but got a nice tasting smooth drink. I'm no connoisseur,and I judge on taste and smoothness alone. No fancy adjectives as my taste isn't that refined. However this rum has a pleasant taste and nice smooth feel. Amazing value at this price.

Bd5fe64b7aa18a67859e6d93818a1327.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Max Rum from United States with 7 ratings

Cruzan Gold is a very decent rum, not a great rum but still very drinkable.
It's a nice sipper and mixes well. The price is great for a solid rum.

F29853ee839d60a22589b5094bafbdd8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

Inoffensive, nice dry rum. A little taste of oak. Just bought a bottle at Walgreens, this stuff is better than all the Bacardi crap which fills their shelves.

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Nice rum at a great price Cruzan makes good rums at great prices great as mixer works with just about anything.

35688fee6879e7348f476626422cbf24.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by John T from United States with 7 ratings

Your basic rum. No great wafts of baking spice. Not a Jamaican fruit bomb. No sweet notes of sherry. Just a plain old fashioned rum kept in a refill barrel for a couple of years or so. Youthful, but a solid performer if you don't expect too much from it. Good for mixing, but also good to sip even if it's one dimensional with it's caramel and vanilla.

9d130c931bfe27ce8567cfdab49cb7ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jimmie from United States with 21 ratings

This rum surprised me. It is light in color and an easy sipper. Mixes well also.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Cruzan Gold is not meant to be a neat sipper although most of the outlets in Caribbean giving free tasting sessions of the Cruzan so want you to think about it as a neat sipper. Mix it with Coke and you will still get the offputting smell and a strong burn, so better to skip this one.

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This makes a wonderful addition to your rum repertoire at home. St. Croix produces many nice rums at better than average prices. Easily accessible at almost any liquor store in the States. These key attributes combined with a nice flavor, though the complexity is not there, makes this a nice rum for mixing.