Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


105 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

Posted over 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

Posted over 2 years ago by Levi from United States with 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert Bass from United States with 2 ratings

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

Posted about 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

enjoy the flavors of molasses and maple but not cloyingly sweet. A staple in the cabinet and the price is fantastic too.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

I like this strait up or in mix drinks. .have bought this for friends and they like it also

Posted over 3 years ago by Ren from United States with 5 ratings

My first try of this one. There is no way I'd mix it with anything sweet (Coke, ginger ale, etc) as it's very sweet itself. Very strong molasses flavor, it's a smooth rum - I decided to cut that heavy flavor with a bit of seltzer & enjoyed it very much.

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

This stuff is massively underrated. I love keeping this stuff around in the winter time.. It has an amazing molasses flavor and it just makes you feel warm and cozy.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 24 ratings

This stuff is cloyingly sweet. Reminded me of the maple syrup chug from Super Troopers. We bought this one night at a good price and could barely drink it. I saved the rum thinking it could be used down the road in a unique mixed drink in lieu of a syrup, but it overpowers everything I put it in.

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

As a fan of Cruzan rums, I decided to give this a try. At first sniff, the aroma of Boston brown bread came to mind. It has a stronger molasses flavor than most other rums but I also noticed hints of anise and vanilla giving this a fairly complex flavor, but it has a bit of a burn. With that said, I like this rum for a change and enjoyed it most on the rocks during my intial four-step tasting. I plan to explore mixers with this too. At about $16 US for a liter in Ohio, I think it's a good buy if this style appeals. I can think of other more expensive dark rums that I don't like as much as this.

Posted 10 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

Not a bad rum, just a bit "Artificial" tasting for what it is. Better than some other leaders in the category.

Posted 20 days ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

Very strong molasses flavour and smell. Not a favorite of mine, but if looking for a strong flavoured rum this is good.

Posted 24 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

This is great I feel o should be pouring it over my ice cream. Great mixed. Molasses out the wazoo.

Posted about 1 month ago by Gregdeboer2019 from United States with 13 ratings

Sorry just not a fan. Very heavy molasses taste, texture and aroma. I had several people recommend but it’s very sweet and as overpowering molasses.

Posted 3 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

Had this subbed in a Painkiller at my local tiki bar and it was nice twist to the classic. Tried a sipper straight, and it has a nice silky texture, not syrupy like I’d expected. It was molasses-cane sugar forward as was anticipated, the waft reminding me of a simple syrup made from unrefined sugar as one might expect, with a healthy dosage to keep it magical. There was no palate burn, but I probably wouldn’t sip this straight again, it’s much better playing with other ingredients or rums.

Posted 4 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

Heavy rum decent flavor I like that it’s not too sweet, however the flavor is not too bold, despite being apparent

Posted 4 months ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

I like violence, lifting, and naked ladies. I also like this rum. A lot. I know it is lower on the price point, but damnit it is good! Amazing mixing rum but also good for sipping on the rocks. Dark molasses mixed with the quiet whisper of evil

Posted 4 months ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

I really did. Unfortunately, it just doesn't taste good to me. It's a very unique flavor which ruins almost every drink I try to mix it into. Will not buy again.

Posted 6 months ago by Jerry1221 (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

THis is the firstbof many dark rums i have had. It was the only one i drank for years. I will say it will stay in my cabiner for years to come. On the other side of that coin. I have found that thiscrum is to sweet for my everchanging tastebuds.