Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10
119 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
12
33
35
16
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

119 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by John T from United States with 7 ratings

I bought this to make dark and stormys, but wound up using it to give a nice switch up to a cup of java. It shines when mixed in this fashion. There is plenty of "rum" to experience and the molasses comes toward the finish and the coffee notes enhance the whole drink nicely. I am someone who loves the flavor of blackstrap molasses and could eat it by the spoon, and have. I would not recommend this to anyone who doesn't appreciate the savoury character of a rich molasses, even though by taste it is rather sweet. That sweetness will not ever be enough to distract you from the ever present smells and flavors that one can only get in this type of rum, be it Gosling's, Kraken, or any other in the category. Not the kind of rum to be enjoyed on it's own unless you really want to go for the gusto and experience that full flavor, so I give it a solid 6.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Levi from United States with 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Robert Bass from United States with 2 ratings

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Riddler130 from United States with 5 ratings

An excellent dessert rum, not for mixing but great for ice cream.