Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


107 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

721b6baef5796e07a24563b028a43bae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

strong burnt molasses / smokey taste, but not as overpowering as Goslings. Best as a mixer, does add a distinct flaver

2bbd4510a6dc4bca0bb78d5d99c06aae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

55d9d337a93ac233624b67104cf7f287.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

C9e388e288f5d989075f57997eab1b88.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Levi from United States with 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Ee5eeda2442b072b8b95c62b812fbf81.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Ada6924901b8fbb3a42c0180c94bbf9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

9ca31864c6507eca60f5ba21b074e8a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

7c1ecb14040b91741f166f3546a1d041.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Robert Bass from United States with 2 ratings

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

037cc426cee36899c597426f1e97cc85.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

enjoy the flavors of molasses and maple but not cloyingly sweet. A staple in the cabinet and the price is fantastic too.