Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.5/10 (109 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
11
29
32
14
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


109 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Not really a fan of the Cruzan brand but was curious about the Black Strap Rum. Don't laugh but when I smelled the rum after opening it I was reminded of good pancake syrup. That was a promising sign. Tasting it was interesting. Hits the tongue rather hard but fades nicely with a lingering sweetness that reminded me of a good pancake syrup. Definitely a molasses flavor but not overpowering. I could see this being sipped straight but best used in a cola where the sweetness is accentuated. No objectionable aftertaste. But does leave some odd flavors on the tongue. Now I need to try it with some ginger beers for a Dark & Stormy. I tried it in Coke Zero and was not pleased with how it turned out. This might be good in various rum punches and mai tai's. I believe it would be best suited in baking.

UPDATE: I wrote my initial review/opinion almost 2 years ago. I recently picked up another bottle for a second chance and discovered improvements in this rum as opposed to the older version. I still have the older bottle for comparison and there is a distinct improvement in aroma, appearance and flavor. The aroma in the newer bottle is quite good and no longer reminds of me of pancake syrup. Swirling it around my snifter reveals excellent legs. It is the darkest rum I have sampled. A dark chocolate hue. The flavor reveals the distinctive blackstrap molasses flavor and has a nice finish. Maybe I had a bad batch bottle initially or perhaps they improved their formula. Either way it's worth a 3-point increase in my rating. Definitely a good mixer but also a nice after-dinner dessert sipper.

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

Honestly, I've only had this in a Dark & Stormy. It smells amazing...to the point where some of my friends believe they should make a cologne out of it. Sheesh, it's hard to say that a black strap rum is smooth, but this one is. We tend to forget about the Cruzan brand, but it offers a solid collection of rums which are the "house" liquor in my home; meaning this is what I serve to guest. Of Cruzan brands, Cruzan Black Strap is unforgettable.

If you're looking to drink a Dark & Stormy and you're tired of hearing "Goslings, Goslings", pick up a bottle of Cruzan and enjoy some of those vanilla notes among the ginger beer. Or, even better, pick up a bottle of Kraken for a new kind of Dark & Stormy.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RumManDan from Canada with 32 ratings

It's a sweet maple molasses flavored rum with limited usage. I am a fan of Spanish coffee and I decided to try it with Blackstrap instead of brandy and it was delicious. A good desert coffee or treat. I consider this a desert rum altogether. That being said - I don't compare this with other dark rums as the flavors are apples to oranges.

This rum will always have a home on my liquor shelf as its interesting and it changed my coffee drinks. I like it, don't love it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Levi from United States with 1 rating

This is by far my favorite rum!! I have a sweet tooth and you can't beat this rum in sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

The most fun you can have with molasses! Buy a bottle, grab some ginger ale and share with your friends. You can't drink this stuff without smiling! Be generous, your pals will appreciate the opportunity to taste such a unique rum!

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I enjoy this rum with strong hints of vanilla, toasted marshmallow, molasses and nutmeg. I have not tried this rum mixed with soda or juice, as I enjoy sipping this neat. A slight burn going down to let you know your drinking rum, however combined with the right spice nuances, this rum should be a house rum to anyone who enjoys a fine rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

Great substitute for myers or goslings black seal in a mixed drink for a different flavor

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Robert Bass from United States with 2 ratings

This is a delicious rum heavy with molasses. Many people are put off by it on first taste. But give it a second try and you'll be hooked. Great for the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Forget Dark & Stormy for a moment. You really must try a Corn 'n' Oil cocktail, which is pretty spectacular, and for that you need black strap rum. Molasses heaven.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

enjoy the flavors of molasses and maple but not cloyingly sweet. A staple in the cabinet and the price is fantastic too.