Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.4/10 (111 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
11
30
33
14
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


111 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jmelrose from Canada with 3 ratings

Great tastes of molasses and other spices. Very unique. I prefer it over kraken. Definitely not a sipping rum though, but great with mix or in a cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daskeryna from United States with 5 ratings

I've had this floated on top of a cocktail and it's really amazing in that application. The sweet, molasses nose works so well when it hits you just before something else. It feels a little too unique to get more broad use, but it's cheap, so worth having on hand.

Nose: rich, sweet molasses.

Taste: not a lot of depth, nor "rum" flavor. While I've enjoyed sipping it while writing this, I've had a bottle for about a month and never reach for it for sipping. Another reviewer mentioned using it in dark and stormys, and I could see that, or anything else where a strong second flavor balances against the rum flavors.

Alcohol: Not a lot of heat, but not as smooth as the aged molasses rums I've had.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Potpie from United States with 6 ratings

This is a good rum for mixing, heavy on the molasses and punchy with alcohol. Nothing complex going on behind that. I'd say it's worth a try, but I suspect it's overrated on this site because of how accessible it is in price and brand recognition.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Had this neat. Got molasse and licorice flavors from it. Good for black strap mixers.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 120 ratings

Really dark and full of flavour. you wont be disappointed

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Don from Canada with 145 ratings

This rum screams dark molasses all the way. A bit too strong flavour for a sipper but it is smooth with little burn. It has become a favourite with coke and reminds me of a molasses sugar cookie. A good value at $30 Can but it had to be brought from Regina. I wish my wife would have brought more.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Sweet rich molassas and warming alcohol aroma. Fairly smooth with rich molasses and caramel notes. Sweet but not cloying. Good body. Warming but not hot. Great straight for occasional sipping or mixed with ginger beer and lime for a 'dark and stormy' - style drink. I can think of a number of uses for this one for a twist on cocktails. Very enjoyable and very affordable.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

As a bartender I believe that Cruzan rums are ideal for use as a well/house light & dark/aged rums so I have a positive bias towards the brand which is only bolstered by their seemly single handed endeavor to maintain the Black Strap style of rum to which I am creatively indebted. The sweet syrupy character of this product may not lend itself to much solitary consumption, but as an additional component in a recipe or the base of a classic such as Corn & Oil it is utterly irreplaceable.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

The scent is heavy as is the taste. It overpowers and is not good for anything but coke or a heavy blend like a dark and stormy yet is very good in this. If you like heavy sweet that dominates or need a sweet rum in a blend this is the one but I prefer one that is a little bit more well rounded.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by rc.richmond from United States with 6 ratings

this rum is very dark, so i use it sparingly in drinks as it can overpower other flavors. But, its strong flavor is perfect for use in desserts or a flavoring. Also works as a base for homemade vanilla.