Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


107 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

228de2ce22c4eaf4ad7e155836376c2b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Paul from Australia with 105 ratings

Really dark and full of flavour. you wont be disappointed

Fa969755bbbd9b5a839d01b148e47644.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Don from Canada with 135 ratings

This rum screams dark molasses all the way. A bit too strong flavour for a sipper but it is smooth with little burn. It has become a favourite with coke and reminds me of a molasses sugar cookie. A good value at $30 Can but it had to be brought from Regina. I wish my wife would have brought more.

C05755fe1ed7745113179491d185efe1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

Sweet rich molassas and warming alcohol aroma. Fairly smooth with rich molasses and caramel notes. Sweet but not cloying. Good body. Warming but not hot. Great straight for occasional sipping or mixed with ginger beer and lime for a 'dark and stormy' - style drink. I can think of a number of uses for this one for a twist on cocktails. Very enjoyable and very affordable.

0f9a5f0fe93b971e2b1ae2b4ed6f8592.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

As a bartender I believe that Cruzan rums are ideal for use as a well/house light & dark/aged rums so I have a positive bias towards the brand which is only bolstered by their seemly single handed endeavor to maintain the Black Strap style of rum to which I am creatively indebted. The sweet syrupy character of this product may not lend itself to much solitary consumption, but as an additional component in a recipe or the base of a classic such as Corn & Oil it is utterly irreplaceable.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

The scent is heavy as is the taste. It overpowers and is not good for anything but coke or a heavy blend like a dark and stormy yet is very good in this. If you like heavy sweet that dominates or need a sweet rum in a blend this is the one but I prefer one that is a little bit more well rounded.

B2d190d1c191601cc73096aae8376b1a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by rc.richmond from United States with 6 ratings

this rum is very dark, so i use it sparingly in drinks as it can overpower other flavors. But, its strong flavor is perfect for use in desserts or a flavoring. Also works as a base for homemade vanilla.

3a441f408a3be2ae99ce19b1549c8cce.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Boomeraso from United States with 2 ratings

Blackstrap is definitely an a acquired taste if you want to use as more than a topping to mixed drinks. When you finally want to step up and be counted, this is a great partner to have in your cabinet! The flavors roll across your tongue and linger for minutes as they shift from molasses to smoke and leather. It takes fortitude and an appreciation for strong flavors to truly enjoy any blackstrap. But this is the best of the bunch!!!

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Cruzan Black Strap Rum. Very nice bottle and label design. Dark golden color. Oak and pure alcohol to your nose and palate. Strong burn at the end being so dry. Whisky lovers can add 2 points to my score.

Bcf8be763c9d7961f5ccc88478950112.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by mtneer99 from United States with 3 ratings

much better value than Kraken
Darn good value for $20 here in VA . As I expected, semi-rich bodied, with smokey notes of oak, and molasses. I enjoyed it neat or in a dark & stormy.

6b5216176e9815d874d6a4a4cad29ade.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Gary from United States with 3 ratings

Rum is my drink of choice and I love nothing better than Black Strap with my homemade ginger beer. The richness and darkness of the molasses creates a tasty and fragrant drink that’s unforgettable. Sip it or mix it, it will help you forget the mean woman you married. Incidentally I keep ingredients chilled and never add ice. I hate watery drinks.