Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.5/10 (109 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
11
29
32
14
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


109 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ef4f0bfb408319515efebcad2f4a3e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Good rum for mixing smell a lot of molasses in this one plus is a very good value.

4cf91b4b0bf22e52273f772f52383139.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Isle1980 from Canada with 31 ratings

Very strong molasses flavour and smell. Not a favorite of mine, but if looking for a strong flavoured rum this is good.

D143b657283e7badc00d3d9b05c96381.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

This is great I feel o should be pouring it over my ice cream. Great mixed. Molasses out the wazoo.

50904001c2d7f00c4f87f4aaf25c33c9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Gregdeboer2019 from United States with 13 ratings

Sorry just not a fan. Very heavy molasses taste, texture and aroma. I had several people recommend but it’s very sweet and as overpowering molasses.

D04d022698db53c0fbd6e82c593ca574.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by eddieo from United States with 92 ratings

Had this subbed in a Painkiller at my local tiki bar and it was nice twist to the classic. Tried a sipper straight, and it has a nice silky texture, not syrupy like I’d expected. It was molasses-cane sugar forward as was anticipated, the waft reminding me of a simple syrup made from unrefined sugar as one might expect, with a healthy dosage to keep it magical. There was no palate burn, but I probably wouldn’t sip this straight again, it’s much better playing with other ingredients or rums.

9a254af7c99ea4f594a2aa07ce4485d9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

Heavy rum decent flavor I like that it’s not too sweet, however the flavor is not too bold, despite being apparent

D94b95f31a992fd0b46ed0ee08de0053.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

I like violence, lifting, and naked ladies. I also like this rum. A lot. I know it is lower on the price point, but damnit it is good! Amazing mixing rum but also good for sipping on the rocks. Dark molasses mixed with the quiet whisper of evil

B2afe2750d3db1e6c358db15adc87e12.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by The Answer is Rum from United States with 10 ratings

I really did. Unfortunately, it just doesn't taste good to me. It's a very unique flavor which ruins almost every drink I try to mix it into. Will not buy again.

173423ed1fb1d762b156e275800845ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Jerry1221 (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

THis is the firstbof many dark rums i have had. It was the only one i drank for years. I will say it will stay in my cabiner for years to come. On the other side of that coin. I have found that thiscrum is to sweet for my everchanging tastebuds.

8e144d9ac58e04f2177e869fbad159ac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Jmelrose from Canada with 3 ratings

Great tastes of molasses and other spices. Very unique. I prefer it over kraken. Definitely not a sipping rum though, but great with mix or in a cocktail.

Bc9839bf1f3b97bb8aac90ffdb973029.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Daskeryna from United States with 5 ratings

I've had this floated on top of a cocktail and it's really amazing in that application. The sweet, molasses nose works so well when it hits you just before something else. It feels a little too unique to get more broad use, but it's cheap, so worth having on hand.

Nose: rich, sweet molasses.

Taste: not a lot of depth, nor "rum" flavor. While I've enjoyed sipping it while writing this, I've had a bottle for about a month and never reach for it for sipping. Another reviewer mentioned using it in dark and stormys, and I could see that, or anything else where a strong second flavor balances against the rum flavors.

Alcohol: Not a lot of heat, but not as smooth as the aged molasses rums I've had.