Posting your rating...
Cruzan Black Strap rum

Cruzan Black Strap

Virgin Islands, U.S. | Dark

6.5/10 (109 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
11
29
32
14
8
4

Rate Cruzan Black Strap

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


109 Cruzan Black Strap ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Very smoky, but lacks the sweetness that it desperately needs. Good with Coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

I like this strait up or in mix drinks. .have bought this for friends and they like it also

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ren from United States with 5 ratings

My first try of this one. There is no way I'd mix it with anything sweet (Coke, ginger ale, etc) as it's very sweet itself. Very strong molasses flavor, it's a smooth rum - I decided to cut that heavy flavor with a bit of seltzer & enjoyed it very much.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

This stuff is massively underrated. I love keeping this stuff around in the winter time.. It has an amazing molasses flavor and it just makes you feel warm and cozy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 26 ratings

This stuff is cloyingly sweet. Reminded me of the maple syrup chug from Super Troopers. We bought this one night at a good price and could barely drink it. I saved the rum thinking it could be used down the road in a unique mixed drink in lieu of a syrup, but it overpowers everything I put it in.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

As a fan of Cruzan rums, I decided to give this a try. At first sniff, the aroma of Boston brown bread came to mind. It has a stronger molasses flavor than most other rums but I also noticed hints of anise and vanilla giving this a fairly complex flavor, but it has a bit of a burn. With that said, I like this rum for a change and enjoyed it most on the rocks during my intial four-step tasting. I plan to explore mixers with this too. At about $16 US for a liter in Ohio, I think it's a good buy if this style appeals. I can think of other more expensive dark rums that I don't like as much as this.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 19 ratings

Definitely liked it better as a mixer with ginger ale. Not really a sipper

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Zuke-a-riah from United States with 3 ratings

Yup, pancake syrup. And this is not bad if you expect it ahead of time. Give it a good deep inhale. Now go ahead and make a unique dark and stormy out of it. It’s super sweet, sugary and spice and once. But that smell is pure delicious pancakes. That is not an insult. I also have made a couple tiki drinks with this for a unique kick. A staple on my shelf. Not for everyone though.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Pbarnett from United States with 1 rating

I might put this stuff on my waffles, but I’m not gonna drink it

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 124 ratings

This beats the hell out of Goslings for half the price. This will be in my next Dark & Stormy for sure. It is really quite good all by itself. Much smoother than Goslings with more complexity and less contrived sweetness. Better on ice than neat. Well done Cruzan. Good stuff here.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Anthony C from United States with 117 ratings

Not a bad rum, just a bit "Artificial" tasting for what it is. Better than some other leaders in the category.