Posting your rating...
Cruzan 9 Spiced rum

Rate Cruzan 9 Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


40 Cruzan 9 Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 6 years ago by Baconav from United States with 14 ratings

Affordable sipping rum. Cinnamon and Vanilla come seem to be the more dominant flavors with a peppery aftertaste. Good for on the rocks as well as with cola.
Value for money is 10/10.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dan from Canada with 4 ratings

This has become one of my favorites so far. Excellent for mixing or sipping. The only downfall is that it is not available in Canada.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kyle Harmeling from United States with 14 ratings

This one has a unique nose and a delightful spice to it. sweet smooth and soft on its own due to 35% ABV it really lets the spice combo shine if you drink it neat. where this rum shines is with coke. good value for the money. my go too rum when i want a rum and coke. sweet and slight vanilla with some pepper and spice. might go well with dr pepper.

Posted over 4 years ago by RoyBM from United States with 5 ratings

This rum has an amazing pleasing aroma to it. Mainly you will smell nutmeg and vanilla. It doesn't have that bad bite like other rums in this same price range. Here it is around $12 a bottle.
All of the Cruzan rums are pretty tasty. I think mixing this might be a bit on the sweet side if cola is used.
Well worth it if you like a nice spiced rum, sweet, and not a lot of bite. Honestly, you can't even smell the alcohol.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Very good understated rum. Nice color with hints of vanilla and caramel. Sweet but not overpowering.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

But that's not saying much, fakey vanilla and spices make this go fairly well in coke but not something I would sip. I got a couple bottles for under $5 with a rebate a couple years ago and honestly don't know if I would buy again at that price, unless Foursquare and Brinley's Gold shipwreck suddenly became unavailable. Even then I would probably just buy Sailor jerry.

Posted 6 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

I enjoy this one to break up the regular spiced rums. Its a little lighter than most.

Posted about 2 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Seemed overly complex for a spiced rum. I enjoyed it but wasn't blown away. Felt like it was trying to hard with the experimentation and hasn't yet found its balance.

Posted about 1 year ago by PacificSpice from United States with 16 ratings

I love the branding behind this rum, putting the spices on the forefront. Though I have to say I'm not a big fan of spice blend. Fake vanilla and mace are on the front of the pallet, kind of off putting. It's right on the edge of something I wouldn't drink again.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on Super Bowl Sunday. Cruzan 9 Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks quite low end. Strong alcohol and very artificial vanilla, pepper and cinnamon flavors to the nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end, so better skip this one altogether.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

This was the third spiced rum that I tried today and easily the worst. There is a saying when it comes to cooking that it is what you DON'T put into the pot that makes the dish great. Too much of anything placed into one pot is a recipe for disaster. This spiced rum has 9 spices, but I cannot distinguish a single one of them. All of them being combined winds up tasting like medicine. I will start my rating with a generous 5, but I am sure that this will gradually be lowered as the bottle is emptied very slowly. What else can one expect for only $10.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

This is a small step up from your typical large-batch production spiced rums. A bit more vanilla, but pretty smooth for a full 80 proof (40% ABV). Poured neat, you can smell the vanilla and baking spices with a hint of cream and citrus. The first sip is surprisingly smooth, and sweet, but not too sweet. A short finish leaves behind a hint of clove and licorice. This mixes well with a rum & coke, and would also go well in a pina colada, but would get lost in a stronger cocktail.

Posted about 2 years ago by Gabriel from United States with 20 ratings

Good but not what i would desire on a friday night. Works better as a mixer. I dont really recommend as a sipping rum. But with the price and flavor it works.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Enjoy this with coke or a mixer good
value rum think I payed around 10.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan from United States with 22 ratings

This was the first rum I tried neat. It's a drinkable rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

This rum is only good in drinks where the extra vanilla taste is not detrimental to the drink. The vanilla is too much.

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Don't let the labeling fool you. Wasn't a great spiced at all.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

9 spiced Cruzan rum is a great rum to mix with coke or even pure with ice. For a fantastic price.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

I have champagne taste but a beer budget. Only drink rum on the rocks with the exception of top-shelf rums. Cruzan 9 has a good (not great) rum taste with hint of spice. Agree with other reviewers that vanilla is prominent flavor but not over-powering.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 4 ratings

Very heavy on the vanilla. With Coke it's practically Vanilla Coke. Straight it's vanilla with a hint of cinnamon as the main flavors.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stabby from Canada with 68 ratings

I don't mind Cruzan products for their value but was a bit disappointed with their spiced rum. Nothing stood out like other spiced rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I purchased a bottle on several recommendations, I liked their Blackstrap so what could go wrong. For my taste buds it was maybe the worst fit so far. Strong medicine like taste and the vanilla and other spices tasted artificial with a strong aftertaste. Not my cup of tea or rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

best describes the profile of this rum. 9 flavors? Well, now I dunno about that, but it IS an interesting spirit. I taste a whole lotta stuff in this but can't quite identify all of it, myself - worth a try for sure, but I don't know that it would be for everyone. I mix it with Coke or Sprite, myself, and ice, but I imagine this would go nicely with pineapple juice, too. If you've an adventurous spirit, try this for sure.

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Thomas from United States with 2 ratings

The 9 spices make this a tasty favorite of mine for mixed drinks as well as rum and cola. Very high concentration of vanilla and cinnamon make this a holiday taste around my home as well. Usually very cheap as well.