Posting your rating...
Cruzan 5 Estate Diamond rum

Rate Cruzan 5 Estate Diamond

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


9 Cruzan 5 Estate Diamond ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

....and no where near as smooth. I like the American oak on the Single Barrel. It gives a much better and fuller nose. It also carries through on to the pallet. This one is inferior in all aspects. Maybe it is a quirk of a change in pricing (what with the recent Brexit decision), but I can't see why this is more expensive.

However, it is a nice enough rum, although given the choice of 5 year olds, Doorley's would be my choice. This is soft, smooth with a hint of a bite of alcohol. Medium bodied, dry but lacks power and sophistication.

Posted almost 4 years ago by wlr75 from United States with 24 ratings

This is a good rum for a daily drink, such as a Cuba Libre. Has a nice nose and palate with a bit of a bite on the finish. Nothing overpowering and nothing to fancy. Just a nice simple rum. This is what Bacardi used to be in decades past. I wouldn't call this a sipping rum, but too much of a bite for that. Not worthy of sitting on the bottom shelf.

Posted 6 months ago by Nisan Jaffee from Israel with 14 ratings

This is a nice step up from the standard Cruzans. Rich molasses taste, but not as complex as the Single Barrel.

Posted 11 months ago by JPepper from United States with 4 ratings

Better than the other Cruzan runs but not quite the Single Barrel.

Posted about 2 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Use this for your tiki drinks that call out virgin island gold rum. Decent little sipper as well when your lazy and just feel like a quick pour. Great to have on hand.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Cruzan 5 Estate Diamond is not meant to be a neat sipper although most of the outlets in Caribbean giving free tasting sessions of the Cruzan so want you to think about it as a neat sipper. Very similar to the flavor profile of the Single Barrel Cruzan, but still the same disappointing alcohol smell and harsh flavors. Mix it with Coke and you will still get the offputting smell and a strong burn, so better to skip this one.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

Perhaps it is placebo, but I can taste the oak in the barrels. My palatte is not smart, but this is amazing rum. Reminds me of pyrat rum

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

Light Cruzan 5 year is like a more interesting Bacardi, nice and light. Dark 5 year is really good, compares favorably to Appleton.

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

I like the Cruzan rums, great for daily drinks.