Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

A lot like vizcaya however it's more oaky and burns more. Very simple rum but makes a solid rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Jaha vad säger man om den, lillebrorsan till 1824
Kändes inte alls så fyllig, ganska tunn smak. Den funkar men ingen woaw upplevelse.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

To be fair, this was one of my favourites, when I started drinking rum, around 12 years ago. Slightly harsh, taste of vanilla and caramel with a little afterburn. Slightly expensive for an 8 year old, but not overly expensive. Over the years, however, I’ve found numerous rums of a similar price that are so much better than this one. Kirk and Sweeney 12 yr old, for example, is normally cheaper, but is on a different level.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 37 ratings

In this price range there are much more better rums. Not creamy, no additional flavours, only alcohol...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by PierreM from France with 14 ratings

Rhum "tout doux", sur des arômes grillés, sans agressivité. Peut-être pas un grand rhum, mais un bon rhum.
A sweet rhum, with roadster flavours. Very pleasant, even if not a "great rhum".

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 1 year ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 70 ratings

This rum is strange to me. At one time I love it when I start sipping some and at other times it just aint good enough for me. I can't figure out why!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

This is a versatile rum that works well as a sipper or mixer. Personally, I like dry rums that are not too sweet and this meets that criteria from the Angostura offering (it’s older brothers are too sweet and the No. 1 Sherry Cask is too expensive for the quality). I’d have this over the rest any day.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Manu from Germany with 17 ratings

Ein absolutes MUSS im RUM-Keller! Für den Preis bekommt meinen tollen Rum zum puren Genuss oder gern auch als Longdrink zu genießen.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

Entry level rum from Angostura that is better suited for drinks rather than sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tab44 from Australia with 19 ratings

Not a bad rum to finish the night off.
Definitely better rums to start with

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jay24 from Belgium with 15 ratings

Really sweet with nice caramel and vanilla taste. Easy to drink