Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

7.0/10 (367 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
19
64
146
94
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


367 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 354 ratings

Sehr gut gemachter Rum aus Trinidad.
Nicht sehr anspruchsvoll in Nase und Gaumen,
aber ein durchaus süffiger Rum für alle Tage.

Very well made rum from Trinidad.
Not very demanding in nose and palate,
But a very tasty rum for all days.

47f87adfeb3a0ae4bdbd83bac34cc174.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 72 ratings

1919 célèbre la date de l'essor du rhum à Trinidad & Tobago après que des fûts aient été retrouvés au comptoir des douanes après un incendie.

539912623c68ec34d72c4d82b079fcad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by artnoir666 from Sweden with 9 ratings

On the nose a slight touch of vanilla which is nice.
Palate is smooth and unoffensive. Very sweet.
Aftertaste short.

A Good beginners "Premium" Rum

78553c6f1b9f0b5ea7d075db3f16becf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 13 ratings

The rum has a nice smokey smell
Good smooth rum with vanilla and some chocolate flavour and a Light woodtast.

2a74bbb2fd6f7ff8e6e2927777b811eb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Un ron muy suave. Barrica, vainilla, café, frutas...

2d3f1d00a22c64e293036c587e1e1fa7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Nickolai Birjoo from Trinidad and Tobago with 6 ratings

Truly, one of my favourite rums.

1919, the bottle says it all really (no seriously, it has a whole story and the tasting notes - it really does make mention of most reviewable material). Not considerably sweet, but never diving into the bitter at any given time. Not quite subtle tastings of vanilla, toffee and a sprig of tobacco leaf, the flavour body is present, with a very similar nose. Smoother than Angostura's other fare, there is a noticeable chest burn that doesn't formulate from the throat. The best way to savour is not to keep it on the tongue, but relish the aftertaste - which is heavily vanilla and toffee.

Texture wise, easy to stir, low viscosity, not really reaching the water mark as it were, but aspiring to it. Almost like sucking on a butterscotch, but with more enthusiasm to make it less thick. A lighter golden colour sans ice is given way to a lovely dark caramel with ice.

Overall an 8 because it does Caribbean rum well (maybe it's a bit too smooth, but people like that) Nice nose, texture and taste, this one is a shelf regular.

Disclaimer: I taste (and drink) all my alcohol (mostly rum) seco, i.e. straight, no ice. If you wish to use this as a mixed drink, please look at another review (which you should be doing anyway, I'm just one man with a subjective palate after all) for a more complete reference.

51e521bc7a3f118b00959333e2e4df9e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Jaha vad säger man om den, lillebrorsan till 1824
Kändes inte alls så fyllig, ganska tunn smak. Den funkar men ingen woaw upplevelse.

22967b3cff0ce29aca3ed23c005521f9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

To be fair, this was one of my favourites, when I started drinking rum, around 12 years ago. Slightly harsh, taste of vanilla and caramel with a little afterburn. Slightly expensive for an 8 year old, but not overly expensive. Over the years, however, I’ve found numerous rums of a similar price that are so much better than this one. Kirk and Sweeney 12 yr old, for example, is normally cheaper, but is on a different level.

6874af1dffab0c7d18fb79f9b23346d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 29 ratings

In this price range there are much more better rums. Not creamy, no additional flavours, only alcohol...

9f3ba031465e18e678fffe9294208389.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by PierreM from France with 14 ratings

Rhum "tout doux", sur des arômes grillés, sans agressivité. Peut-être pas un grand rhum, mais un bon rhum.
A sweet rhum, with roadster flavours. Very pleasant, even if not a "great rhum".

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This rum is strange to me. At one time I love it when I start sipping some and at other times it just aint good enough for me. I can't figure out why!