Posting your rating...
Angostura 1919 8-Year rum

Angostura 1919 8-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

Angostura 1919 rum is produced in Trinidad by blending a combination of light and heavy molasses distilled rums. These rums spend at least 8 years aging in American oak bourbon barrels.

The name Angostura "1919" refers to the event in 1932 when Angostura's distillery was destroyed by fire. Miraculously, a handful of barrels filled with rum from 1919 survived and were purchased by J.B. Fernandes - the master blender of Fernandes Distillers.

6.9/10 (372 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
4
9
20
64
148
96
22
5

Rate Angostura 1919 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


372 Angostura 1919 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

A lot like vizcaya however it's more oaky and burns more. Very simple rum but makes a solid rum and coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

But seems to have a doctored taste, perhaps a little too sweet and vanilla but not unpleasantly so.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Onokov from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

The taste is typical sweet liquer-ish rum, with one sad exception: you also have a taste of young wood. Looks like the barrels are new with wood cut against the grain to spill juice, or the rum is under-aged.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

Smooth and perfectly sweet with some very interesting flavours. Good honest quality rum, hints of honey, so easy to sip on this all night.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 204 ratings

Something about West Indies rums you have to love, including Trinidad. Fond memories of all my surf trips throughout Caribbean and WI. I like this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Florin from Romania with 26 ratings

Un alt rom interesant de la angostura, cred ca e singura marca la care am inceput cum se incepe, de jos in sus )))) de la 5 (nu cel mai de jos ) apoi angostura 7 ani care mi a placut mulkt si acum acest rom de 8 ani .

trebuie spus ca te cam pierzi cand incerci sa intelegi ce i cu romurile 1919 de la angostura : 3 - ul arata la fel , se pare ca a existat si alta varianta de 1919 si acum ii zice "deluxe" . Povestea e extrem de interesanta si se gaseste inclusiv pe cutie : dupa un incediu se descopera in o cladire guvernamentala niste butoaie cu rom din 1919 care era folosit pentru innobilarea romurilor angostura sub numele 1919 , doar ca se speculeaza ca de fapt s a terminat si atunci au redenumit aceasta gama "deluxe" . poate sunt doar speculatii )))) dar povestea e frumoasa )

in miros se simte destul de tare alcoolul, mai mult decat mi as dorii, dar este si bine parfumat si alcoolul asta emanat ajuta la inprastierea mirosului. se simte bine atat vanilia cat si caramelul + ceva dulceata , pare a fi mirosul de bomboana clasica din zahar ars )) nu i rau deloc din punctul asta de vedere.

in gust se simt aceleasi arome , practic are aromele clasice de rom si sunt echilibrate bine. partea cu adevarat interesanta este ca este un rom uleios si desi este destul de aspru, faptul ca e uleios imprastie altfel arsura de la alcool si astfel nu mai pare la fel de tare ca in miros si arsura o face placuta si o experienta interesanta , cred ca acsta este asul din maneca acestui rom. daca n ar fi asta ar fi un rom mult mai simplu asemanator cu mont gay eclipse .

e de spus si ca as prefera mai degraba angostura 7, mi a lasat o impresie mai buna pt ca se simte acel iz de invechit in gust iar aici nu se simte deloc
ramane un rom interesant, de incercat )

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 106 ratings

Nose okay, aftertaste okay, but the taste itself is really good. Not a sweet rum and that is totally fine. i’m surprised! Didn’t expect so many flavours from an 8 year. Now i understand why The Legacy is so special and damn expensive.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 67 ratings

Sweet in a way that reminds of too much almond paste. Can't find any other nice flavours hidden beneath

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by David Kundrt from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Zlatavá barva, středně aromstický - vůně po pomerančích a meruňkách, lehce a příjemně štiplavý, ostřejší finiš,

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by adambom from United States with 4 ratings

Color: yellow gold, Sauternes
Nose: caramel, toffee, hint of acetone, vanilla, banana bread, latex paint, rubber hose
Taste: mostly flat, earthy esp on the finish, a little metallic, slight bitterness, some nuttiness

Overall: It’s ok, but not remarkable either. Lacking depth and complexity, it’s not an ideal sipper, nor is it punchy enough to stand out in most cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

This one is light amber in the glass as would be expected from less time in oak (although 8 years seems long enough to bring darker color). The nose spicier and oakier than expected with hints of vanilla, caramel, and molasses. The nose brought greater hope than was delivered on the tongue, however, with lighter flavors than were promised by the nose. The finish left me wondering about the promise of the nose once again. In balance, the overall experience left me to put this one on the back shelf until necessity (Covid-19) forced it forward. After more experience, I liked this one more and more, albeit not as much as my other favorites.